Gingerbread Frosting for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
YUM! this frosting has a kick like red-hots. I used this on the "Soft gingerbread cookies" and it was the perfect combo. (yes there is a non-teeth-breaking recipe for gingerbread cookies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
good recipe. i made it exact way it was wrote then later played with the spices to my liking. as is, good, but needed something. i ended up with, for spices, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie McCranie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
AMAZING! I added the 1 TBSP of Butter (creamed) and it turned out to be the perfect spreading consistency for Gingerbread... not cookies...Gingerbread cake. When I took a bite of the gingerbread cake with this frosting it was like a spice explosion in my mouth! My husband said "You ARE making more of these for Christmas!" This icing would also be excellent on sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Fantastic! I replaced all seasonings with 1 tsp pumpkin pie seasoning- yum! The color comes out brown, but nothing a little food coloring can't cure... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this to frost the "big soft ginger cookies" from this sight and they worked so beautifully together! The spices in the frosting and the cookies worked so well together and made the cookie even more special! Needless to say i got rave reviews about this frosting! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
EXCELLENT! The frosting made the cookies. I think I may try it on pumpkin muffins next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is incredible icing! I wanted to use the Big Soft Ginger Cookies for a fall sandwich cookie and needed a complimentary icing. This was the one. I added a tbsp. of butter and a little vanilla and doubled the recipe. This was the best icing. I could see how this would be good on a pumpkin or sugar cookie, too. It sets up well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
The flavor is excellent and the frosting sets fairly quickly, though I had a hard time getting it as thick as I would like. It really picked up some bland anise cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very light and great on molasses cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was a new concept for me - didn't think to add spices to the frosting. As far as taste; it's ok, but did get real runny after one day. Probably wouldn't make again unless we weren't planning on any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States