Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
First time ever making gingerbread cupcakes. The batter was a little runny but after I put them in the oven they baked just fine. The cake was moist and the texture was light...perfect for a cupcake. I will defintely make thses again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These were very good!I made a cake with another recipe and thought they were great and these are even better.I used 2/3 of a cup of milk and cooked them for 15 min.When the cake just turns cakey enough to not stick to a toothpick is how moist they were,so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dimsum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
i love gingerbread! These were good, but I had a difficult time with dryness. and EVERYONE at the party was disappointed that they weren't chocolate. o'well! I had enough leftover to make a snappy trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I used margarine instead of butter, "regular" cocoa and molasses, and substituted nutmeg for the all-spice (I didn't have any all-spice on hand). I made mini cupcakes for my daughters tea party. They were cute, and tasty and she was delighted! I had leftover butter cream icing, so I didn't try the frosting this time. I will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This has a classic gingerbread taste, but is enhanced by the lemon icing. I followed the suggestion and made it with 8oz cream cheese, 1//4 tsp lemon extract, 2 C powdered sugar, and I added a Tbsp butter. Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Great cupcake - lots of ginger and a nice twist on regular flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The cupcakes were very dense and tasted mostly like molasses to me. I did follow the other reviewers suggestions for the frosting and that turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I discovered this recipe a couple of Christmases ago and everyone loves it! My only problem was that every time I made the cupcakes they sank in the middle. I tried all kinds of variations on my mixing time, baking time, etc, but they always sank and I would fill up the dent with frosting (no big loss). This year I searched high and low and couldn't find Dutch process cocoa powder anywhere, so I gave up and used regular cocoa powder... the cupcakes didn't sink!! What is the advantage of the Dutch process I wonder? I recommend regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I use a different gingerbread recipe and wanted to make a frosting for it this year. The frosting is a perfect compliment to the gingerbread. I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and used the exact measurements of the other ingredients and it was delicious! Very light lemon flavor, nice and creamy, and spreads easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Made into mini cupcakes and topped with the whipped cream cheese frosting from this site and then sprinkled a little bit of red sugar on the top to make them extra festive. I'm going to be making this recipe again for Christmas, but this time am going to make it into a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NFISCHER08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States