Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Tastes great, but these cupcakes were flat and fell apart completely when I took the liners off of them! I think the sinkhole in the middle could be solved by adding the baking soda to the dry mixture, instead of adding it to the hot milk, so that the reaction creating the bubbles happens *inside* the cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made these for Christmas Eve tomorrow and I tasted the batter and it tasted weird but I was like oh well. Then i tasted a cupcake with the frosting and it was spicy and is not kid friendly! If you like the fake gingerbread stuff then you will not like this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I took these to a party tonight and they were a big hit!. Moist and delicious. Mine did sink in the middle and spread over top of the muffin cups when cooking or I would have give it 5 stars. I used my own cream cheese icing recipe so I can't comment on that, but the muffins themselves are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very, very tasty. Just make sure to use paper muffin liners if making mini cupcakes, or else they won't hold shape and tend to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe was perfect. Usually I double the cinnamon and other seasonings, but I didn't have to with this. The muffins also turned out huge and they rose perfectly. I left off the icing and ate them like muffins with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These cupcakes were so simple, moist, and so yummy! They just scream HOLIDAY! So delicious, I definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
A little dry, but didn't really keep exact time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerTag
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Through my search of trying to find a soft gingerbread cookie, I stumbled upon this recipe. I was skeptical, but the reviews said it was good, so I decided to try it out. This recipe tastes just like gingerbread, only soft, exactly what I was looking for. All soft cookies had reviews about the cookie dough being crumbly, so I went with this. I made them in mini cupcake tins so I could have bite sized taste testers, and even my mother loved it, who isn't a big fan of desserts. Looking forward to sharing these with my co workers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We all loved these cupcakes! I didn't have lemon extract for the frosting, so I used real lemon juice and it was amazing! I will make these again only next time I will tweak the recipe and fill the cupcake with a lemon curd filling. SO DARN GOOD! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I brought them to work and everyone loved it. I did use almost 2t of ginger and hipping teaspoon of cinnamon. I accidentaly put baking soda in BOILING milk so it "exploded", so be careful when putting baking soda in hot milk. They are quick to make and not very sweet. I meant to make 24 mini cupcakes, but ended up with 24 mini + 1 huge. Plus I think I filled the tin too close, so like other reviewers said I had "spillage" and ended up with not very pretty mushrooms, which I trimmed all..lol I used regular unsweetened cocoa so didn't have the sinking problem others mentioned. I will make them again, but definitely would fill just above half. Oh and it took at least 10 min to bake 24 MINI cupcakes, so if you're doing regular sized, 16 min like others said might not be enough. It depends on your oven. Finally, I just made up my own icing with about 2T of melted white chocolate, 1T of butter, 1t lemon juice, 1T of sour cream, and kept putting icing sugar until they reached the consistency I wanted. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States