Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. The batter was very runny and when the cupcakes baked, they spread out instead of rising nice and puffy. The taste was good, but nothing overly exciting. I would add raisins to liven it up. Neither my husband or daughter gave this recipe much better than 3 stars. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
These were really pretty good. They had a nice, spicy gingerbread flavor and the lemon frosting on top was a really nice change of flavors from your usual chocolate and vanilla. I ended up filling 15 muffin tins and had to bake them about 6 minutes longer than suggested, and they blobbed over the sides of the tins. I might fill them slightly less next time if I make these again around the holidays. Especially cute with mini gingerbread man sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Great muffins,soft, moist and yummy. Tasts very much like parkin to me, so some of these will be done for bonfire night (I've just baffled the Americans out there, sorry!) but nope, I didn't dig the frosting much so do go with making your own I think. Actually, I don't think they even really need the icing anyway as they're so moist and yummy. I'll add a bit more spice next time, but i think i was a bit skinny on the measurements anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Great recipe. Thanks, Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Yummy!! Everybody loved it!! I replaced the molases with brown sugar+water+honey (read the replacement proportion on pantry 911 site) since I had no idea where to find molasses, used half the amount of sugar, and it was still plentifully sweet! I made it for my niece's 5th birthday and decorated it with pink and purple 'fruit hagel' - it's just something very dutch, look at my picture to get a better idea of what it is :P. People here eat it over buttered bread...most of the time it's chocolate hagel though...(I'm rambling here...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Really good, I served these with a Christmas brunch and I had to fight to keep some for me! Everyone wanted to take them home to enjoy later on. I did however utilize the icing changes recommended by ANASTASIAJANE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Delicious! Everyone at my office loved these. They were a tiny bit dry...maybe a pinch more molasses? I thought that there was just enough icing, I wouldn't make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I really liked them, but they were not gobbled as quickly as I thought they would be. However, everyone wanted to take some home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I made this recipe into mini muffins, and they turned out perfectly in 17 minutes. I like the way these taste--something different from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Great idea. I had always made ginderbread cookied around Christmas, but now everyone asks for these! The frosting adds the perfect touch of sweetness to the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMDMD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States