Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Dee Matthews
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This cupcake recipe is phenomenal! It baked at 350 for exactly 20 min. and they turned out beautifully. I will be using them at a fundraiser. They were perfectly rounded. I did not use this frosting, but instead used "Decorator Frosting" from this website as another had suggested. I would absolutely suggest that frosting if you are interested in piping on this cupcake. The taste greatly complements this spicy cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These were good but not great. I don't think I would use the cocoa in them if I made them again and I think I would use more of the spices. I am going to keep looking for a better gingerbread cupcake recipe. I didn't use the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These are wonderful!!A great change from the usual chocolate/vanilla flavors.I do use a little extra ginger and cinnamon and I put 2 whole eggs in,rather than the called for 1 1/2.Batter is quite thin,but before I put it into the cupcake tins,I let it sit for just a few minutes.It thickens a bit and is easier to handle.These are always a hit for the fall and holidays!!And you can decorate them so cute according to the seasons too.Some say these sink in the middle after they cool. I gently tap the filled muffin tin on the counter before going into the oven-like I do with any cake I bake-this removes the air in the batter....and I've never had them sink down any time I've made them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I've caught the cupcake bug that seems to be sweeeping the world and my family has added inches to their waistlines from my fascination with these yummy treats. I've made dozens and dozens of different types of cupcakes but it seems that these gingerbread cupcakes are the most delicious. They disappear so quickly that I usually double the recipe to satisfy the hoards. However, the other reviewers are correct, the cream cheese frosting recipe is flawed. Instead, try mixing 30g of butter, 80g softened cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups sifted confectioners sugar and 1 tsp grated lemon rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
These are amazing! They definately taste like a perfect, not-too-spicey gingerbread cookie. Can't wait to make these again and again, thanks Currie for the recommendation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I adore this recipe, 2006 I went on a cupcake rampage and baked dozens upon dozens of cupcakes...found this recipe and was an instant hit with the extended family!!! I try to make this most of the October - December season though sometimes treat the fam throughout the year!!! absolutly deeeeeeeee-licious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmalou082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
These were excellent! The texture is wonderful. I've made cupcakes with this recipe and also a 9X13 cake...both turned out great. This was big hit at potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This recipe is awesome, and I'll definitely make it again! I followed some of the other user's comments and substituted a different icing recipe. It turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
i must have done something terribly, terribly wrong, though i am an experienced baker. i made these cupcakes, and i know they taste good because they were so tender, they fell in and they fell apart! the cake is too tender; i can't imagine attempting frosting on them as the outer edges have come apart! with so many giving these rave reviews, i have to figure i did something wrong, though i followed the recipe to a T. and now i'm left with 12 falling-apart cupcakes. back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I was a little disenchanted with the outcome. The batter made enough for more than 12....so some of the cupcakes baked well over the top, making it difficult to remove from the cupcake pan. While I love ginger and molasses, I just didn't love the flavor of these. Another reviewer had issues with the allspice (I agree) and suggested adding ground cloves (another idea I think would improve these). I substituted butter cream frosting for the cream cheese frosting, and that was the only saving grace. I found myself cutting off the bulk of the cupcake, and just eating the top (a more palateable ratio).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States