Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I just made a batch of these, following the batter recipe exactly as stated (I haven't gotten to the frosting part yet, and will probably use my own recipe for that). PROS: Great flavor -- just enough spice and molasses. Not too sweet, either, but clearly a cake and just right for pairing up with a sweet frosting. Also, very moist. CONS: None, really. I plan on adding this to my recipe rotation. Like another reviewer, mine baked up over the edge of the tin. And each ended up with a sizable dimple in the top. Not really an issue, though, since I'm covering everything with frosting. Besides, it's probably my fault for overmixing the batter or peaking before they were done. I checked mine at 16 minutes and they definitely weren't ready. Stick with the suggested 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious! Great holiday treat! I didn't have any cinnamon and they still were tasty. For the frosting, I used 8 oz cream cheese, 2 cups of confectioners' sugar, 1/4 tsp lemon extract, per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These tasted really yummy, but when I baked them they rose & then fell & sunk in bad. They looked awful. Luckily I wasn't making them to take to anyone! They do taste wonderful though, so at least I can still eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great gingerbread and spice flavor, nice and moist, but... I was very disappointed at how these rose - with flat tops, spilling out onto the muffin tin. Tried 'em twice too, thinking I may have done something absent-minded the first time. Not. They turned out the same way the second time as well. Like little hats with a brim, or maybe little flying saucers. I won't make these again for that reason alone. I didn't use the frosting in this recipe, preferring to use my own, which was a perfect match for these cupcakes: 4 oz. cream cheese, 1/4 c. butter, 2 c. powdered sugar, some grated lemon zest, and enough fresh lemon juice to get to desired consistency. I rated these four stars because Hubs loved them, but in my book I'd rate them only three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These were easy and delicious! I was very liberal with the spices. I doubled the recipe. I also used my own cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were really good and easy to make. They were very moist; not dry at all. Did not make the icing...used another cream cheese icing recipe on this site and added a little allspice to it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I did not use the frosting recipe, so this is just based on the cupcakes. I did not find these dry at all. They baked up very nicely and were moist and full of that expected gingerbread flavor. I accidentally used 2 full eggs, instead of the egg yolk, but other than that, followed the recipe. Great fall recipe. I topped these with the Allspice Cream Cheese frosting from this site and candied ginger. The combination was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
First time ever making gingerbread cupcakes. The batter was a little runny but after I put them in the oven they baked just fine. The cake was moist and the texture was light...perfect for a cupcake. I will defintely make thses again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These were very good!I made a cake with another recipe and thought they were great and these are even better.I used 2/3 of a cup of milk and cooked them for 15 min.When the cake just turns cakey enough to not stick to a toothpick is how moist they were,so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dimsum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
i love gingerbread! These were good, but I had a difficult time with dryness. and EVERYONE at the party was disappointed that they weren't chocolate. o'well! I had enough leftover to make a snappy trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States