Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I have searched for the perfect gingerbread recipe, and this is definitely the one--moist and spicy, and the cocoa powder somehow ties all the other flavors together. It's also quite easy to make. The only thing to watch out for is the frosting recipe attached to it--something's not recorded quite right. Try this instead: cream together 8 oz. cream cheese, 4 Tbs cream and 2 cups sugar--light, sweet and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I gave this four stars only because I had to change the frosting. Used 8 ounces cream cheese, 2 cups confectioners sugar & added 1/4 tsp lemon extract. The frosting turned out great. The cupcakes were delicious!! A little on the dry side with 20 mins cook time - will try 16 mins next time as another reviewer suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURSEONALITY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Would have given this a 4 1/2 star rating, only because the cocoa stood out. I made mini-cupcakes (39), baked for 15 minutes and they came out full and with a nice light texture. Next time I would add more ginger and , maybe a touch of ground cloves. I will make them again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These were great! Used 2c powdered sugar with 8oz soft cream cheese and 1tsp vanilla for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Great muffins,soft, moist and yummy. Tasts very much like parkin to me, so some of these will be done for bonfire night (I've just baffled the Americans out there, sorry!) but nope, I didn't dig the frosting much so do go with making your own I think. Actually, I don't think they even really need the icing anyway as they're so moist and yummy. I'll add a bit more spice next time, but i think i was a bit skinny on the measurements anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
These were excellent! The texture is wonderful. I've made cupcakes with this recipe and also a 9X13 cake...both turned out great. This was big hit at potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
These were really pretty good. They had a nice, spicy gingerbread flavor and the lemon frosting on top was a really nice change of flavors from your usual chocolate and vanilla. I ended up filling 15 muffin tins and had to bake them about 6 minutes longer than suggested, and they blobbed over the sides of the tins. I might fill them slightly less next time if I make these again around the holidays. Especially cute with mini gingerbread man sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great gingerbread and spice flavor, nice and moist, but... I was very disappointed at how these rose - with flat tops, spilling out onto the muffin tin. Tried 'em twice too, thinking I may have done something absent-minded the first time. Not. They turned out the same way the second time as well. Like little hats with a brim, or maybe little flying saucers. I won't make these again for that reason alone. I didn't use the frosting in this recipe, preferring to use my own, which was a perfect match for these cupcakes: 4 oz. cream cheese, 1/4 c. butter, 2 c. powdered sugar, some grated lemon zest, and enough fresh lemon juice to get to desired consistency. I rated these four stars because Hubs loved them, but in my book I'd rate them only three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Great recipe!!! I used tablespoons of ginger instead of teaspoons though. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My children and their friends loved these, and they are not overly sweet. They taste best when served cold. 16 minutes was enough cooking time. I mixed 8oz. reduced-fat cream cheese, 2 cups confectioners sugar, 1 t. lemon extract and a splash of half-and-half for frosting (with a lot leftover).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States