Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Great muffins,soft, moist and yummy. Tasts very much like parkin to me, so some of these will be done for bonfire night (I've just baffled the Americans out there, sorry!) but nope, I didn't dig the frosting much so do go with making your own I think. Actually, I don't think they even really need the icing anyway as they're so moist and yummy. I'll add a bit more spice next time, but i think i was a bit skinny on the measurements anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Great recipe. Thanks, Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Yummy!! Everybody loved it!! I replaced the molases with brown sugar+water+honey (read the replacement proportion on pantry 911 site) since I had no idea where to find molasses, used half the amount of sugar, and it was still plentifully sweet! I made it for my niece's 5th birthday and decorated it with pink and purple 'fruit hagel' - it's just something very dutch, look at my picture to get a better idea of what it is :P. People here eat it over buttered bread...most of the time it's chocolate hagel though...(I'm rambling here...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Really good, I served these with a Christmas brunch and I had to fight to keep some for me! Everyone wanted to take them home to enjoy later on. I did however utilize the icing changes recommended by ANASTASIAJANE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Delicious! Everyone at my office loved these. They were a tiny bit dry...maybe a pinch more molasses? I thought that there was just enough icing, I wouldn't make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I really liked them, but they were not gobbled as quickly as I thought they would be. However, everyone wanted to take some home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I made this recipe into mini muffins, and they turned out perfectly in 17 minutes. I like the way these taste--something different from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Great idea. I had always made ginderbread cookied around Christmas, but now everyone asks for these! The frosting adds the perfect touch of sweetness to the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMDMD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My children and their friends loved these, and they are not overly sweet. They taste best when served cold. 16 minutes was enough cooking time. I mixed 8oz. reduced-fat cream cheese, 2 cups confectioners sugar, 1 t. lemon extract and a splash of half-and-half for frosting (with a lot leftover).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made these cupcakes for my holiday open house and they were very good. Perfect for a Christmas themed menu... lots of spice in them. I sprinkled holiday sprinkles on top and arranged them in the shape of a Christmas tree on a plate. One thing, I made the recommended amount, but the cupcakes turned out enormous. I think this could have made 3-4 extra. Also, I improvised with the icing, because the measurements in the recipe are obviously off. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States