Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Made into mini cupcakes and topped with the whipped cream cheese frosting from this site and then sprinkled a little bit of red sugar on the top to make them extra festive. I'm going to be making this recipe again for Christmas, but this time am going to make it into a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NFISCHER08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were wonderful! I can't comment on the frosting because I used lemon buttercream instead but the cupcakes were delicious. I omitted the all spice and nutmeg because I didn't have them and added more ginger to compensate, they were still very tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Excellent. Is 5 stars with frosting adapted like mentioned by other reviewers - 8 oz cream cheese, 2 cups powdered sugar and I added lemon zest/lemon juice. Also, do not overfill the muffins cups because they spread out flat-ish as well as up and it doesn't make it easy to get them out if they are too full. I actually made 14 muffins with this recipe after a little struggle getting them out of the pan the first time. I sprinkled little mini gingerbread men on them - very cute and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
My hubby who doesn't like gingerbread didn't like this at all, but my 3yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made a slight modification to the gingerbread batter (used tablespoons of ginger as opposed to teaspoons) and a significant modification to the cream cheese frosting-- as recommended by other reviewers: 8 oz. whipped cream cheese, creamed, + 2 cups confectioner’s sugar + ¼ tsp. lemon extract + splash of whipping cream), to mixed reviews. Most of the people who didn’t care for the results had opted out of using icing (having tasted the icing—admittedly a little strange—by itself); they said the gingerbread muffin/cupcake base was too spicy. The people who had both together, though—the gingerbread and the icing—thought that the balance was perfect. (One actually said, “This tastes of my childhood!” :)) They also enjoyed the lemon, which they really hadn’t expected to go with gingerbread at all. One word of caution, though—don’t put much batter into each cupcake/muffin cup… the batter doesn’t hold up well under those circumstances… it takes a lot longer to bake (a little less moist), and the muffin top collapses. It was also a bit of a nightmare trying to get them to come out, and very few came out looking like actual muffins. Despite this, though, I thought the recipe was still something of a success, and I think I’d try it again… perhaps continue tweaking the icing, though, and a little bit less ginger :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
absolutely delicious. the only thing is; next time more ginger & nutmeg & cinnamon will be added for a bigger flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These were really great! I used full flavored molasses which was a bit much for some of my friends but I liked it :) I used the whipped cream cheese frosting here: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Whipped-Cream-Cream-Cheese-Frosting/Detail.aspx It was a perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
great recipies all the flavors blended together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adilah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Unbelievable and different flavor for a cupcake recipe. Followed recipe exactly. I think next time I'm going to try and make it as mini cupcakes, so the cupcake/ frosting ratio is a little closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This cupcake recipe is fabulous! I made the cupcakes for a holiday party and LITERALLY everyone raved. I didn't change the cupcake recipe at all and the cupcakes came out perfect and moist. I did however use my own lemon cream frosting recipe, but I will still rate this recipe 5 stars just for the cupcakes alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States