Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I used margarine instead of butter, "regular" cocoa and molasses, and substituted nutmeg for the all-spice (I didn't have any all-spice on hand). I made mini cupcakes for my daughters tea party. They were cute, and tasty and she was delighted! I had leftover butter cream icing, so I didn't try the frosting this time. I will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This has a classic gingerbread taste, but is enhanced by the lemon icing. I followed the suggestion and made it with 8oz cream cheese, 1//4 tsp lemon extract, 2 C powdered sugar, and I added a Tbsp butter. Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Great cupcake - lots of ginger and a nice twist on regular flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The cupcakes were very dense and tasted mostly like molasses to me. I did follow the other reviewers suggestions for the frosting and that turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I discovered this recipe a couple of Christmases ago and everyone loves it! My only problem was that every time I made the cupcakes they sank in the middle. I tried all kinds of variations on my mixing time, baking time, etc, but they always sank and I would fill up the dent with frosting (no big loss). This year I searched high and low and couldn't find Dutch process cocoa powder anywhere, so I gave up and used regular cocoa powder... the cupcakes didn't sink!! What is the advantage of the Dutch process I wonder? I recommend regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I use a different gingerbread recipe and wanted to make a frosting for it this year. The frosting is a perfect compliment to the gingerbread. I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and used the exact measurements of the other ingredients and it was delicious! Very light lemon flavor, nice and creamy, and spreads easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Made into mini cupcakes and topped with the whipped cream cheese frosting from this site and then sprinkled a little bit of red sugar on the top to make them extra festive. I'm going to be making this recipe again for Christmas, but this time am going to make it into a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NFISCHER08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were wonderful! I can't comment on the frosting because I used lemon buttercream instead but the cupcakes were delicious. I omitted the all spice and nutmeg because I didn't have them and added more ginger to compensate, they were still very tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Excellent. Is 5 stars with frosting adapted like mentioned by other reviewers - 8 oz cream cheese, 2 cups powdered sugar and I added lemon zest/lemon juice. Also, do not overfill the muffins cups because they spread out flat-ish as well as up and it doesn't make it easy to get them out if they are too full. I actually made 14 muffins with this recipe after a little struggle getting them out of the pan the first time. I sprinkled little mini gingerbread men on them - very cute and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
My hubby who doesn't like gingerbread didn't like this at all, but my 3yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States