Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
dead tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is a very tasty recipe. I had a hard time w/ the dough at first, a little dry, I just wet my hands with a little water while needing, until the dough became rollable, then it was great. Careful not too overbake, or they will become rock hard! But when they are baked just right, these where very very tasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
There is something wrong with this recipe! No eggs? I'm not certain, but it tasted so bad, I threw out the entire batter, after only baking 1 tray of the cookies! Martha Stewart has a great one - using eggs and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Followed this recipie to the letter and my husband says they are the most incredible gingerbread cookies he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I have received rave reviews from other gingerbread fans this Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I subsituted butter for the shortening and took them out of the oven a little early (I like very soft cookies) and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
It's nice to find egg-free recipes, as my daughter is allergic. We made these today. Since I live in a dry, higher-altitude climate I only added 6 1/2 cups of flour, but it was too much for my KitchenAid mixer (never had that happen before!) and it was quite dry. Six cups would have been plenty. I added a fair amount of water until the dough would hold together, then refrigerated it. It rolled out quite well, and we had fun making 36 gingerbread men. I baked them 10 minutes and they're still soft. However, the taste is somewhat lacking. I hope adding icing and candy will help with that. Real butter instead of shortening might have helped as well. Overall, I don't know if I'll make this recipe again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I have had many people request this recipe. As with most cookie recipes it needed a little tweaking to get the right consistancy (a little water on your hands while kneading does the trick)but it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APPASSIONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was my first try at Gingerbread. I have always enjoyed eating it in the past, so I thought it would be fun to make. This dough was very easy to work with and the cookies came out beautifully, but they didn't taste good at all. I wish I had taken some of the other advise and tasted some of the first ones baked and saved the work. WAY to much Molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States