Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made these cookies for our club's christmas party and they were a hit! I don't usually enjoy gingerbread, but I found I ate a lot of these! I rolled mine out to about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick and they got nice and puffy. I had to bake them at 400 because we were making sugar cookies too and they held up fine (I had to reduce baking time to 8 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the same recipe I've been using for about 30 years! Kneading the dough is a "workout" - and that's part of the process. It's always been a big hit for presentation, and nobody has ever complained about the taste or texture. I used to make them with cookie cutters that were about 7" tall, decorated with Red Hots and white piped icing. The extra touch was to write names with icing, wrap in plastic wrap and red curling ribbon, and use them as "place cards" at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The ONLY recipe I use now for Gingerbread Men - a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is the best gingerbread cookie recipe I've found. I made a couple changes, used butter instead of shortening, and for the dark molasses I used 1 1/4 cup Grandma's Original Molasses and a 1/4 cup Grandma's Robust Molasses (to give it a little kick). I cooked them for exactly 10 minutes. They are wonderful. Even my 5 year old said they were good! And thats before adding the frosting! I give a five star rating! Great! Will make again for Thanksgiving and Christmas! Oh, and they are great dipped in Eggnog too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe but substituted the molasses with golden syrup (I didnt have any molasses)and shortening with butter - the cookies turned out great and have a lovely taste! This is the second time Ive made gingerbread in my short time spent cooking and I was impressed at how well they turned out! This is the recipe Im definately going to use whenever I make gingerbread! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
this is such an easy recipe to make!! The final product is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a long-time favorite in my family - I had it scribbled on the back of a 4-yr-old receipt, and searched to see if it had been published by anyone else and here it is. BUT the chocolate frosting is not included in my recipe (I would never add that, but that's just my preference). Instead, we glaze it with a confectioner's sugar and lemon juice/rind glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAPESWHIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Delicious recipe! Makes a whole lot of cookies. I rolled the dough into logs and cut them up into little circular cookies. You could probably roll jelly into the dough if you do this, though you'll want to chill them longer than two hours if you do, to make sure they stay firm while you're cutting them. You can substitute butter or margarine for shortening. You can also use maple syrup instead of molasses for a more subtle taste, and brush a thin sweet mixture of confectioners sugar and water over these cookies when you're done instead of using store-bought frosting, for a more authentic taste. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Meyers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deferiet, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I agree, there is obviously something missing from this recipe. I added egg and more liquid but still don't think it will work! Very expensive, time consuming waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
One more recipe in my quest for the perfect gingerbread man recipe. These were great. They were fairly easy to cut out (I always cut out cookies after rolling between two sheets of wax paper) and they puffed up nicely. They made a dense and tasty cookie. Not the best recipe I've used, but pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States