Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is now officially my favourite gingerbread recipe ever! To all my fellow bakers in Ireland (and the UK), do not fret if you can't find molasses: I use golden syrup and it tastes lovely - quite a sweet, almost toffeeish taste, but lovely all the same. Also, don't overcook. I'm a terrible for looking at them after the prescribed time and thinking 'Jayze they're a bit pale!' and whacking them back in for an extra five minutes but AVOID THAT TEMPTATION! It makes them tooth-shatteringly crunchy. Even if they look underdone, take them out of the oven after the given time. Other than that, they're perfect =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IthilienDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ennis, County Clare, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Why would I pre heat the oven for 2 hours before I bake these cookies? You should change the number of the steps around. #4 should say Pre heat oven to 350. Then #5 roll out cookie dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This recipe is great! It has the perfect flavor and an amazing scent fills up the kitchen! My mother, who normally isn't a big fan of gingerbread cookies, loved them as well. Make sure to flour your surface well each time you roll out the dough, as it can be VERY sticky. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I did not like this at all. I do not blame the recipe. I just did not realize how bad molassus smells and therefore taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These were pretty good cookies. I didn't have any trouble rolling them out and they had a nice, but strong taste. The one problem I had was that I had turned my brain off and added the cold water to the shortening, molasses and sugar without creaming it. I was able to save the mixture but remember to cream the shortening before adding the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was okay - I wish they would've been more sweet. Other than that they were great. Dough was very workable and made soft but stable cookies. They were easy to decorate - check out the recipe called Decorator's Frosting by P. Oakes - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I used this recipe BUT I mixed in two large eggs to bind it all. Even then I had to really knead the dough. Rolling it out was much tougher than sugar cookie dough because it is so much more dense. (but the good news is it doesn't stick like sugar cookie dough!!) Decent enough but the eggs are a MUST!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
How long does your oven take to reach 350? You might want to preheat the oven when you take the dough out of the fridge after 2 hours and not 2&1/2 hours before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I made a gingerbread house out of this. It made nice thick, soft walls and tasted great. I love that it has no dairy, so the kids can eat the house 2 weeks later. Instead of the frosting, I used 2 egg whites and 5 cups powdered sugar for the 'mortar' of the house. It made clay-like icing that I rolled into ropes to hold the sides together. I wouldn't decorate with it, since it is too thick to pipe, but it is great for holding the house together, and especially good for kids because it isn't sticky at all, but more like clay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I wanted to add something on to my previous review. Let these cookies sit overnight in an air tight container with a slice of bread to help keep moist. Their taste improves overnight and I find they are even tastier after a few days. I just change out the slice of bread every two days to help keep them moist. They are not supposed to be a sweet cookie... that is why the glaze/frosting is used... oops my previous review didn't post... I used 1 1/2 cups robust mollasses. I also doubled all spices. I rolled them a wee bit thick and they were perfect. watch the oven times as they go from done to burned in about 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States