Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Followed recipe spot on. No substitutions. Cookies came out like hockey pucks. Even dropped one on the floor and it didn't break. Dissapointed in spending so much time making and baking only to have inedible cookies. Not very flavorful either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My grand-daughter and I tried this recipe today. we made the dough yesterday, following the recipe with no changes and then refrigerated overnight. The dough stuck to the work surface and the cookies sheets. The cookies wound up being very tough and essentially tasteless. We made half the dough. I have been a home baker for years (very successfully according to family and friends) and we were so disappointed as these were supposed to be in gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karkar
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Lol sounds like a delicious recipe, I just hopw everyone reads the entire recipe before beginning, because you really don't have to preheat the oven two hours early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karkar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Buckler
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very good cookie! I subbed the molasses for maple syrup because I didn't have any molasses and I subbed the shortening for coconut oil because it's healthier and I saw another reviewer did it as well. ;) The kids loved them! And as long as I used flour to help roll it all out it didn't stick. The trick is to always use flour when rolling out the dough! My inlays came over last night and even they liked them. They must have because they kept stealing them from the kids. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Buckler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
OH MY GOSH!!! THE COOKIES TURNED OUT WONDERFUL!!! The dough was moldable even after 1 hour, so I don't think that you need to refrigerate the dough for 2 hours...... also the gingerbread guys got fatter in the oven (sorry.....) but thats probably my mistake of cutting them too thick. But never the less.... GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brier, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe is nearly identical to the one that my family has been making for the last 3 generations. A few helpful tips that we've incorporated into our routine: 1) DO NOT OVERMIX. The more you mix, the stickier it gets. 2) Combine the flour+spices first and set aside so that it can be added quickly to the mix. 3) Don't add the cold water until right before you're ready to add the flour+spices. If it sits around and starts warming up, the dough will be stickier. 4) Use only 6.5 cups of flour in the dough and then cover your work surface with flour when you go to roll/cut. It helps keep the dough from sticking to you and your rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Way too hard and dry. I think you need to cut back on the flour. I ended up making drop cookies out of them, because the dough was too crumbly to roll. I made 2 trays and threw the rest out, they taste like flour, way too heavy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was the best! I just made them and I also made a few changes: Instead of shortening I used Coconut Oil and in place of the dark molasses I used Maple Syrup and I doubled up on the cinnamon, because I couldn't resist adding more! These came out awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Mmh! The more I ate them the better they tasted. I do better next year on decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I followed this exactly with the help of my son and these cookies are a hit! I used homemade vanilla frosting instead. But these cookies are great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States