Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These were pretty good cookies. I didn't have any trouble rolling them out and they had a nice, but strong taste. The one problem I had was that I had turned my brain off and added the cold water to the shortening, molasses and sugar without creaming it. I was able to save the mixture but remember to cream the shortening before adding the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was okay - I wish they would've been more sweet. Other than that they were great. Dough was very workable and made soft but stable cookies. They were easy to decorate - check out the recipe called Decorator's Frosting by P. Oakes - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I used this recipe BUT I mixed in two large eggs to bind it all. Even then I had to really knead the dough. Rolling it out was much tougher than sugar cookie dough because it is so much more dense. (but the good news is it doesn't stick like sugar cookie dough!!) Decent enough but the eggs are a MUST!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
How long does your oven take to reach 350? You might want to preheat the oven when you take the dough out of the fridge after 2 hours and not 2&1/2 hours before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I made a gingerbread house out of this. It made nice thick, soft walls and tasted great. I love that it has no dairy, so the kids can eat the house 2 weeks later. Instead of the frosting, I used 2 egg whites and 5 cups powdered sugar for the 'mortar' of the house. It made clay-like icing that I rolled into ropes to hold the sides together. I wouldn't decorate with it, since it is too thick to pipe, but it is great for holding the house together, and especially good for kids because it isn't sticky at all, but more like clay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I wanted to add something on to my previous review. Let these cookies sit overnight in an air tight container with a slice of bread to help keep moist. Their taste improves overnight and I find they are even tastier after a few days. I just change out the slice of bread every two days to help keep them moist. They are not supposed to be a sweet cookie... that is why the glaze/frosting is used... oops my previous review didn't post... I used 1 1/2 cups robust mollasses. I also doubled all spices. I rolled them a wee bit thick and they were perfect. watch the oven times as they go from done to burned in about 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made these cookies for our club's christmas party and they were a hit! I don't usually enjoy gingerbread, but I found I ate a lot of these! I rolled mine out to about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick and they got nice and puffy. I had to bake them at 400 because we were making sugar cookies too and they held up fine (I had to reduce baking time to 8 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the same recipe I've been using for about 30 years! Kneading the dough is a "workout" - and that's part of the process. It's always been a big hit for presentation, and nobody has ever complained about the taste or texture. I used to make them with cookie cutters that were about 7" tall, decorated with Red Hots and white piped icing. The extra touch was to write names with icing, wrap in plastic wrap and red curling ribbon, and use them as "place cards" at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The ONLY recipe I use now for Gingerbread Men - a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is the best gingerbread cookie recipe I've found. I made a couple changes, used butter instead of shortening, and for the dark molasses I used 1 1/4 cup Grandma's Original Molasses and a 1/4 cup Grandma's Robust Molasses (to give it a little kick). I cooked them for exactly 10 minutes. They are wonderful. Even my 5 year old said they were good! And thats before adding the frosting! I give a five star rating! Great! Will make again for Thanksgiving and Christmas! Oh, and they are great dipped in Eggnog too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States