Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Maybe I did something wrong, but these cookies were dry and tasteless. I felt like I was eating flour. Looks like I'll be buying my gingerbread men at the grocery store this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I thought these were really great cookies! They tasted great, baked well, and it was fun decorating them. Thanks for sharing. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwhatamess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this recipe as written. I bumped up the spices because I like spicy gingerbread cookies. The dough was super sticky, very difficult to roll and cut out. I ended up making drop cookies instead. They turned out great. I liked the flavor and soft, chewy texture. Next time I have to remember to cream the shortening and sugar before adding the other wet ingredients. I think that'll help with the stickiness and difficulty working with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
i made these cookies and they were the BEST!!!!! i decorated them with cream cheese icing and everyone loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolategirl1998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A little strong on the ginger, I should have taken previous reviewers advice and used just half. On the plus side they hold their shape very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Delicious! And it's great that it's already vegan without having to make substitutions =) One note though: I think the preparation of the dough should be moved to the beginning since it has to be refrigerated for 2 hours prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe and suggestions but it ended up far too thick and virtually tasteless...won't be using this recipe again - sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It was a great hit at the Christmas decorating party. Based on the other reviews I tweaked the recipe a bit. Instead of all the shortening I mixed it with half unsalted butter and shortening. Used 1 1/4 cup of molasses. And added a little over a teaspoon of ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are awesome cookies! They're the typical gingerbread cookies with a very festive, holiday flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The worst gingerbread I've ever made in my entire life! Molasses was way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States