Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I was searching for a recipe I used last year for gingerbread cookies and thought this one was it. As I started going along, I realized it wasn't but I am still very glad I tried it! Even though I honestly feel like the recipe I used last year was better, this was still a fun recipe to try. It makes a very traditional gingerbread cookie, both in flavor and texture. I followed the recipe exactly (other than I only chilled the dough for 1 hour, not 2) and baked the cookies for 10 minutes. They were not melt-in-your-mouth soft and chewy, but not crispy either. A little dense, but not heavy. Flavor and spice tasted great to me and it sure made the kitchen smell like Christmas! In addition to making good cookies, I think this recipe will be even better for making a gingerbread house, and plan to try that in a few months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Tasty cookies. Made great Christmas tree ornaments as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I think these taste pretty good, been awhile since I have had gingerbread. Love them a little thicker so that they are nice and moist at a later date. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musik16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I tried this cookie recipe 2 days ago and was rather dissappointed. The cookies were dry and I had trouble working with the dough. I made the recipe exact according to directions. I have had better flavor in other recipes but could not put my finger on the recipe I used so tried this new one but won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made this recipe specifically b/c it didn't have eggs (my daughter is allergic to eggs). I have made many Gingerbread cookies and houses in my lifetime that tasted wonderful. I wish I had written one of those recipes down. This recipe is NOT one of the good ones! Dough was very dry and crumbly. The first batch, which was fresh out of the oven, tasted stale. So bad, dry, and tasteless. I urge you to try another recipe and skip this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Best recipe ever!!! I used a stone, baked them for 10 min and then let the cookies sit for 2 min before moving them to a cooling rack. It's my first time making gingerbread cookies and they have a perfect mix of crunchy and soft. I will absolutely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
We made this last night and you can barely taste the spices. I would double or tripple. the spices in this recipe. It tasted like molasses/flour cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Cute and good! I was happy to share them with family last year during the holiday season. They are just so fun to bake and decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I've never liked gingerbread before, but this recipe has made me love them! My family and friends can't get enough of these delicious cookies. :) It's become a tradition to bake them for my friends abroad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is the best gingerbread recipe I've used. The dough held up, the cookies turned out firm but soft, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States