Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I feel like the molasses overpowers the rest of the flavors. I cut the servings down to 12 (which would probably make more like 2 dozen if I had used it all for cookies), which calls for about 1/2 cup molasses and 1/3 cup brown sugar, and I added an additional 1/3 cup stevia and doubled the ginger and it still came out merely okay. I made about a half-dozen cookies out of it, then I used the rest of the dough for cinnamon rolls and actually, THAT came out really good. It's a good recipe for a really different-tasting cinnamon roll, but not a great recipe for gingerbread cookies. Next time, I'll try it with more brown sugar instead of molasses, then maybe triple the ginger and double the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This recipe is heavenly! They last a very long time and the aroma stays with them :) I would reccommed these to anyone who dose not have time to spend more than 3 hours in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacieharris
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is my first time ever to make gingerbread cookies. Thank you so much for this recipe. It was very easy and simple. Me and my kids had a blast. I had no problems with the dough. I only had 1 cup of molasses so I just added 1/3 cup extra water and the cookies still turn out to be sweet and full of flavor. I baked them for 10 minutes and they turned out soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I'm happy to have found this recipe - my son is allergic to eggs and dairy, so finding one without is great! It turned out well, except that I prefer my gingerbread with a bit more spice. I'll definitely use the recipe again, though next time I'll try adding a tsp of nutmeg and maybe 3 tsp of ginger and see if that suites my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I followed directions exactly as written. I had some on a cooling rach and my baby climbed up and took a bite of each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
i have tried this recipe with the all natural sweetener Natvia to make a 100% guilt free delicacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I was searching for a recipe I used last year for gingerbread cookies and thought this one was it. As I started going along, I realized it wasn't but I am still very glad I tried it! Even though I honestly feel like the recipe I used last year was better, this was still a fun recipe to try. It makes a very traditional gingerbread cookie, both in flavor and texture. I followed the recipe exactly (other than I only chilled the dough for 1 hour, not 2) and baked the cookies for 10 minutes. They were not melt-in-your-mouth soft and chewy, but not crispy either. A little dense, but not heavy. Flavor and spice tasted great to me and it sure made the kitchen smell like Christmas! In addition to making good cookies, I think this recipe will be even better for making a gingerbread house, and plan to try that in a few months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Tasty cookies. Made great Christmas tree ornaments as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I think these taste pretty good, been awhile since I have had gingerbread. Love them a little thicker so that they are nice and moist at a later date. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musik16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I tried this cookie recipe 2 days ago and was rather dissappointed. The cookies were dry and I had trouble working with the dough. I made the recipe exact according to directions. I have had better flavor in other recipes but could not put my finger on the recipe I used so tried this new one but won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States