Gingerbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This was a yummy recipe!! Some small changes though, little more than 3/4 molasses, not 1 cup, 1 Tbsp cinnamon (says 1 tsp) and 1 tsp of all spice. Those spices really kicked up the flavor. Also make sure to use lots of flour to roll out the dough as it is sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
601 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I was apprehensive, with the variety of reviews, but this recipe turned out great. I've made gingerbread cookies in the past; either the dough was too tough to work with, or they did taste like cardboard after baking (the frosting redeemed them). I did double the ginger, as suggested. The dough was soft, easy to work with, and did not get hard and tough as we continued to work with it. The dough we were working with mixed very well with the dough we added from the refrigerator. The cookies were soft when done baking. The kids and I both liked the flavor. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I doubled the cinnamon, left the ginger the same (a whole *tablespoon* is plenty), and cut the molasses to 34 cup. They came out tasting great :) I also dumped the cloves because I don't like that flavor. The dough wasn't the easiest to work with, but I didn't wait the full three hours to roll it out, so I can't complain. The cookies held their shape in the oven and stayed soft in the middle. Another minute or two would have added some crispiness, and I'll probably try that next time. Great cookies, thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Recipe was easy to follow, dough looked great but compared to the genuine swedish recipe this was not good. I can not believe anyone ever got a compliment on these cookies. Usually the dough is great to taste too but this i could not even take a tiny bite. I decided to make them anyway thinking maybe when they are cooked they would taste better. I ended up throwing them all away! Tomorrow I am calling my mother for her recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Excellent soft gingerbread cookies. I have received many compliments!! I must have been using potent powdered ginger: unlike other reviewers, I found my cookies to have a hot ginger taste. As suggested by others, I doubled the cinnamon & added 1/2 tsp allspice. Next time I would leave the cinnamon at 1 tsp, to keep the ginger dominant. I used 1/2 cup shortening (all I had on hand) and 1/2 cup margarine. I did not notice a 'molasses taste'. I recommend rolling the dough out between 2 pieces of plastic wrap, rather than using a floured surface, to reduce the risk of dry cookies. Bake only until the cookies don't look wet. They will be sturdy but still soft when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I hate giving a bad review to a favorite recipe of another, but these tasted awful and I was extremely dissapointed. The shortening taste is more pronounced than it should be and the taste of molasses and cloves is overwhelming. For the cost of the spices and the time it takes to work the dough together, this recipe was a huge let down (my son and I had planned on decorating gingerbread men and had all the fixings to do so - we decided to make another dessert after tasting the cookie) I would choose a recipe with a "sweeter" base. These are spicy, but not in a way that will be pleasing to children and I have to agree with another reviewes when they said these tasted like dog biscuits. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYOUS_E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Delectable. Use only 3/4 cup molasses, it's enough. You want these sweet and spicy, not too molasses-rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Reading some of the other reviews, I almost decided not to try these. But I'm sooooo glad that I did. I didn't change anything and they were great. I baked them only until they were slightly firm to the touch. Perfect. Thanks, Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Though the dough takes a good deal of time and effort to prepare ( it becomes very thick and dificult to mix) this recipe is well worth the effort. I served them at a neighborhood cookie swap and they were the hit of the party! Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Fantastic! My kids as well as the adults in the family loved this cookie. If they come out too dry, try cooking them for a minute or so less. The dough was easy to make, at the end it got a little difficult for mixing but once the dry ingredients were all absorbed it was a dream! Give it a taste test before you divide it up for the fridge. This was a really nice cookie, I will make it every year! Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States