Gingerbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is the first time I have ever written a review. These were so bad I thought I would take the time. Sorry but these were so flavorless and not sweet enough at all. I double checked my ingredients thinking I must have overlooked something, but I didn't. The dough rolled out easily and it was simple to do, but I didn't care for the flavor. Sorry, can't believe so many wrote in that they loved these. They must have a fantastic frosting recipe is all I can say. We are planning on smothering these in frosting and hoping my son's classmates can stomach them. Very spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy capps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These are great! It looks more complicated than it is, and it's totally worth it! I recommend adding a little powdered sugar glaze, it adds the perfect touch! COMBINE 2 cups sifted powdered sugar, 3 tablespoons milk, 1 tablespoon melted butter and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract in small bowl until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I enjoyed making this recipe. I had to chnage shortening to butter. I don't believe in them. Also, I had to chnage the amount of spice. I needed to add more spice to bring up flavour. Otherwise, I think this recipe was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made few adjustments to the recipe based on previous reviews...used 2 tbsp ginger (I like the heat), 1/2 tsp allspice, 3/4 cup molasses, substituted 1/2 of the shortening with butter, added a half teaspoon of salt and substituted orange juice for the water. The orange juice *made* these cookies. I also dredged the cut cookies in a light coating of granulated sugar. These cookies are soft and lovely. *Awesome*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I halved the recipe, maybe that is where my problem lies... but I didn't like these cookies one bit. They were more like clove-bread cookies than ginger. They were oddly puffy, rather than dense. I think that they would probably taste a whole lot better if one used butter instead of shortening. The vegetable fat has a weird flavor in this context. Another recipe might be a little more satisfying if you are looking for a traditional gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I will update this later, the dough is currently sitting in the fridge chilling but it smells amazing and tastes absolutely perfect! I will see how they roll/cut and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cora2078
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My goldchild is fond of Gingerbread men and she loves these ones!! They're so easy to bake and all my house smells so good when they're baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cora2078

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I liked this recepie- It was my first attempt at anything other than chocolate chip cookie, and Im going to use it for a Fall tea. There is a perfect flavor combination that reminds me of Fall m Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These cookies were too hard for my liking. They didn't taste good. If I were to make these again, I would just use it to make a Ginger Bread house instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Way too spicy! I did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States