Gingerbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
After reading both pro and con reviews of this recipe, I decided to try it. Unfortunately, I am another of those disappointed in it. As others have mentioned, the dough is VERY hard to work with. My hands were cramping up by the time I had worked in the 6+cups of dry ingredients. As others have also said, the flavor was lacking. I tasted the dough as I was working the ingredients together, and decided to add some salt. This helped a little, but probably would have been better to have a whole teaspoon sifted into the flour from the start. After letting the dough sit, I cut and baked the cookies, all of which bubbled up, leaving my gingerbread men looking like they had boobs, goiters, or aliens about to pop out of their bodies. Never saw cookies do that before. *L* Tasting them, however, was the biggest letdown of all. After all that hard work, they were mediocre at best. My toddler loved them, of course, but I wanted more flavor from them. They didn't need more ginger; my husband thinks they needed more sugar, and I think he might be right. I didn't want to just ice them for the extra sweetness, though, because then you're just eating dead cookies with sugar for flavor. Next time, I will definitely put more brown sugar in, and perhaps more liquid so they are not so dry. (Once cooled, they were like crackers! I let them sit out for several hours before putting them in a container, and then, somehow, they softened up.) My father-in-law loved them, at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This a great recipe for gingerbread cookies! The dough is very easy to work with and has great flavor. The only change I made to the recipe is I omitted the ground cloves because i didn't feel like buying it. I baked them for exactly 10 minutes so that they wouldn't get to crispy and they are nice and soft. So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsiekrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Super easy and delicious recipe. Didn't over-rise in the oven so my gingerbread men and women were beautiful. Quick to whip up - will replace my old recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I give it 3 stars just because I am hard to please, I made those cookies prior reading the reviews, when I was done with the dough, I thought i messed it all up, and the strong smell worried me, but put it in the fridge anyways, they came out great, I like it even though I am not a ginger bread kind of person, I was worried my sons would not like them because the flavor was really strong, I think next time I would hold on the clove, not my favorite flavor... whoever messed up this recipe, I don' t know what to say... I am not a cook at all, and followed directions by the letter, dough was easy to make, pretty easy to work with ( easier though with smaller cookie cutters) and crispy on the outside soft on the inside. Not like cardboard at all, did not taste like dog cookies at all, but hey everyone is entitled to there opinions. IF MY FAMILY LIKED IT, THEN I' M HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
my first time making gingerbread cookies from scratch, and it was EVEN EASIER than using a mix! great great flavor, and easy to work with. thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I'm pretty sure that anyone who liked these has never had good gingerbread cookies. I have been making them since I was 5 and while studying abroad I decided to make some but didn't have my own recipe with me so I found this one. I went against all its bad reviews and made it anyway and now I regret it so much. I gave it a star because it makes great play-dough since its texture is incredibly soft, but the end result is completely flavorless. Great dog biscuits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Loved how easy it was to make and the cookies came out perfect. Will be adding this recipe to our holiday box for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe and it held together well! I made a large gingerbread house and used it for that. It baked well and did not lose its shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Really good recipe. The 1 tbs cinnamon instead of teaspoon and extra teaspoon of Ginger really kicked them up a notch. I added an extra egg and that made it even easier to work with, no need for flour when rollin out the dough only a stretch of wax paper instead. My husband absolutely loves them and can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I was really disappointed in this recipe waste of time tasted like cardboard sorry never again without ready reviews maybe good for hanging on christmas tree one star for that only
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States