Gingerbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The best and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I wish I would have read more of the reviews before I wasted a ton of ingredients on them! I agree with all of you who describe these as "dog biscuity". They are dry and very bland. Not what I was expecting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is excellent, i don't know what the others are talking about. I have three points to make to the people who have been having problems: 1) Chilling the dough is extremely important, you are using melted butter which is essential for the texture, you must 'set' the dough in the fridge and it will be very easy to work. 2) pet peeve: stop complaining about the flavour of recipe's like this. Adjust the spices! amount of spiciness is a personal preference and should not have bearing on the quality of the recipe when baking. 3) Do not overbake, bake until just dry. If the edges start to become brown you have gone too far. I added a few tablespoons of B&B to mine, baked them in small rounds and dusted them with powdered sugar when they cooled. They were beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intheweeds

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
After reading both pro and con reviews of this recipe, I decided to try it. Unfortunately, I am another of those disappointed in it. As others have mentioned, the dough is VERY hard to work with. My hands were cramping up by the time I had worked in the 6+cups of dry ingredients. As others have also said, the flavor was lacking. I tasted the dough as I was working the ingredients together, and decided to add some salt. This helped a little, but probably would have been better to have a whole teaspoon sifted into the flour from the start. After letting the dough sit, I cut and baked the cookies, all of which bubbled up, leaving my gingerbread men looking like they had boobs, goiters, or aliens about to pop out of their bodies. Never saw cookies do that before. *L* Tasting them, however, was the biggest letdown of all. After all that hard work, they were mediocre at best. My toddler loved them, of course, but I wanted more flavor from them. They didn't need more ginger; my husband thinks they needed more sugar, and I think he might be right. I didn't want to just ice them for the extra sweetness, though, because then you're just eating dead cookies with sugar for flavor. Next time, I will definitely put more brown sugar in, and perhaps more liquid so they are not so dry. (Once cooled, they were like crackers! I let them sit out for several hours before putting them in a container, and then, somehow, they softened up.) My father-in-law loved them, at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This a great recipe for gingerbread cookies! The dough is very easy to work with and has great flavor. The only change I made to the recipe is I omitted the ground cloves because i didn't feel like buying it. I baked them for exactly 10 minutes so that they wouldn't get to crispy and they are nice and soft. So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsiekrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Super easy and delicious recipe. Didn't over-rise in the oven so my gingerbread men and women were beautiful. Quick to whip up - will replace my old recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I give it 3 stars just because I am hard to please, I made those cookies prior reading the reviews, when I was done with the dough, I thought i messed it all up, and the strong smell worried me, but put it in the fridge anyways, they came out great, I like it even though I am not a ginger bread kind of person, I was worried my sons would not like them because the flavor was really strong, I think next time I would hold on the clove, not my favorite flavor... whoever messed up this recipe, I don' t know what to say... I am not a cook at all, and followed directions by the letter, dough was easy to make, pretty easy to work with ( easier though with smaller cookie cutters) and crispy on the outside soft on the inside. Not like cardboard at all, did not taste like dog cookies at all, but hey everyone is entitled to there opinions. IF MY FAMILY LIKED IT, THEN I' M HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
my first time making gingerbread cookies from scratch, and it was EVEN EASIER than using a mix! great great flavor, and easy to work with. thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I'm pretty sure that anyone who liked these has never had good gingerbread cookies. I have been making them since I was 5 and while studying abroad I decided to make some but didn't have my own recipe with me so I found this one. I went against all its bad reviews and made it anyway and now I regret it so much. I gave it a star because it makes great play-dough since its texture is incredibly soft, but the end result is completely flavorless. Great dog biscuits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Loved how easy it was to make and the cookies came out perfect. Will be adding this recipe to our holiday box for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States