Gingerbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
i made this gingerbread recipie and all i have to say is wow smells really wierd when its done and taste horrible how can you call this a gingerbread it taste like cardboard...thanks alot for makeing me waste my time energy and money to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
There isn't enuff ginger. I put 2 teaspoons instead of 1. They don't need to be in the fridge for 3 hours. 30 minutes worked well. They are good with sugar cookie icing that DRIES. They aren't always the amount you want. 24 doesnt make 24 cookies. It says 3/8 of an egg. You can do 1 of 2 things: mix it in a bowl and use half or use just the whites. Both are good. Ive made these at least 5 times. They're great! (with some changes) ps. I use butter instead of shortening. Still works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe isn't the best....it taste really spicy and not at all like gingerbread, you also have so much left over and it wasnt worth the amount of time that it took to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I honestly don't know how this recipe has any bad reviews. I followed it exactly and was really happy with the results. I chilled my dough for about 8 hours to make it easier to work with, and I like them soft so I only baked them for 8 minutes, but I was very happy with the outcome! Ignore the bad reviews and try it for yourself..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was my first attempt in many years. I made these for my two sons who won't get any until Christams :-) They are sure to be a hit with them. For me they could have been a little more gingery, but that's just my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biergarden
Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I made these cookies and found that it took a long time to add the dry to the wet ingredients. But that is not the issue I really had it was the end result that I was unhappy with. They were not sweet enough and and lacked spice. All in all very flat when it comes to taste. The recipe called for 1 cup molasses when it should have called for 3/4 cup. I wouldn't recomend this recipe to anyone. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Best gingerbread man recipe! Soft yet firm and holds up. Dough is very easy to work with. I didn't change the recipe at all and it tastes great. Not a very sweet cookie but perfect with some icing. So yummy with tea. Rolling between two pieces of Saran wrap worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I read all the bad reviews and regretfully made them anyways...even worse I made 2 batches before tasting the first. They are not to my liking (both batches) they are dry and tasteless. They were very difficult to roll also. I made all the recomended changes but I do not care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I've never made gingerbread cookies before. I was pleased with this recipe because it was so easy to follow, and the end product was a perfectly textured, great tasting gingerbread cookie. I'll definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Classic gingerbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States