Gingerbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made these cookies this a.m. Christmas Eve 2012, the dough is perfect for soft cookies. I grated fresh ginger into the recipe to add a little bite but next year I will also add more sugar. I also added a tbsp of orange juice. My husband, the gingerbread cookie lover in the family likes them a lot but thinks they should be a little sweeter. I read some reviews that said there was too much molasses, that is funny because my husband asked me if I had put any in them. Definitely a keeper recipe. Now to ice them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The texture was great-- soft almost like cake which I love. But the sweetness was lacking and could've used a little salt. I was surprised at how soft the dough was, but was very pleased with how easily it rolled out and cut. So add about 1/2 tsp salt and up the sugar just a dash and this would definitely be a winner. I will make it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I changed the amount of servings to 36. and it was a mess. The dough was pitch black, so I had to add about 130g more of flour, but the bitterness of the molasses wouldn't go away. I even reduced 120mL to 90mL. What did I do wrong??!!?!? But again, it was probably me that made the mistake. Thankyou for the recipe! I'll have to try again somtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I read many reviews first before making these cookies. I halved the recipe since 6 cups of flour seemed like a lot of cookies & used 1/3 c oj instead of water and used a whole egg. I also used half shortening and half butter. I didn't refrigerate the dough which didn't seem to matter. My cookies were nice and soft. I did find them a bit bland. I remade the cookies as above and doubled the spices (tripled the cinnamon)-much better tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Great Recipe! i even used 1 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon :-) PS: Due to unavailability of some ingredients in my country, i replaced the shortening with unslated butter and the molasses with melted sugar*. I melted 1 cup of sugar with drops of lemon juice and continuous stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
the mixed reviews surprised me, this is a simple recipe that really works. i tried it yesterday and we all had a cookie frenzy in the evening after enjoyable colorful icing process. even before it was baked the dough was very delicious. i did not have some of the ingredients so i used margarine instead of shortening and skipped vanilla extract. it took more flour than recipe. i put less molasses, just above 3/4 cup. i am allergic to nutmeg to i replaced it with simple ground nuts. although i altered the recipe a lot, the end result was very tasteful. this gives you half soft cookies not all crunchy and hard ones. i recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I bake cookies for the past 12years. I am sorry there is something missing in this recipe. It never worked out. Wouldnt recommended it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was not the best gingerbread cookie recipe I've used. They ended up tasting like Molasses cookies, and NOT like nice, spicy gingerbread cookies. Overall, I'm sure they would be wonderful if the molasses amount was cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I was really disappointed with this recipe. The cookies turned out to be not very sweet and a bit cardboard-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a very mild gingerbread recipe but tastes good. My husband, the expert cookie dough roller in the house, said the dough is more crumbly than the sugar cookie dough he makes and you have to roll this dough out gently, at least until it warms up, but he said it's pretty easy to work with. My middle son wanted gingerbread cookies for his Royal Rangers class Christmas party so my husband looked for and found this recipe to try. We'll likely make these every Christmas now! They're just as fun to make and decorate as the sugar cookies he makes. We're wondering if anyone has ever frozen the dough, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States