Gingerbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Tasted awful and the dough was hard to work with, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yummy. Only 14 years old and I made this work. I was scared that they wouldn't be good because of the other reviews but I think it's better with 3/4 of molasses it's just perfect :) and decorated them after. It takes time but we need patience right? Anyways amazing cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is great, but I suggest cutting it in half. I'm drowning in cookies. I gave half of them to my mom and she had to get rid of them by giving it to her friends and then she had to bury them in the backyard. It never ends. Every time I think I have eaten the last cookie, 10 more appear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used 1 Tbsp cinnamon instead of 1 tsp. I left out cloves. I used 3/4 c molasses instead of 1 cup and added 1/4 c dark corn syrup plus an extra 1/4 c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I mean no disrespect, but these are the worst gingerbread cookies we have ever tasted. We followed the recipes exactly. We were hoping to make a delicious holiday treat as a family activity, but we will try a different recipe tomorrow. If you don't like the taste or smell of food made with shortening, then avoid this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and I followed the recipe instead of others tweeks thinking that I should try as written before changing. The dough was easy to work with but wouldn't let me roll out more than 3x and the cookies were kind of bland and boring. I will say that if I do decide to try it again I will definitely up the spices as others suggest. I used a whole cup Molasses because you can't over do it and I thought it might keep them more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Make sure to roll them really thin & add a lot more spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
The whole thing tastes like molasses. I was so disappointed. I don't know what I did wrong but I followed everything perfectly on the directions. NOT WORTH IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This was a great gingerbread recipe! Soft and chewy and very tasty with icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made only 1/2 of this recipe. I subbed 3/8 cups of molasses instead of 1/2 cups. I doubled the cinnamon and ginger, and only refrigerated the dough for an hour or so. I subbed in butter for shortening and baked at 180C. They turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States