Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
wow! my first time eating/making gingerbread cookies and they were SOOO good!!! I did add an extra 1/4 c. of sugar, because i was afraid it would be bitter, after reading some of the reviews, and i can't imagine it tasting good w/o that extra sugar. It was still only mildly sweet, but that was great! also i did use and extra cup of flour. Thanks so much!! Out of the 4 cookies i made this christmas this was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Fantastic! No issues with stickiness, no extra flour added (like in some other reviews). I think there are two secrets to making these cookies great: 1. Use butter or margarine that does not have a high water content 2. The dough needs to rest and chill. If you live in Canada (or another colder climate), stick it outside to chill till the dough is quite firm - till it cuts cleanly with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Very good gingerbread cookie. Not the sweetest, I eat mine plain, but most people would prefer with icing. Absolutely needs and extra cup of flour and an hour in the fridge. Then they rolled out very easily on a floured board. I was worried with so much extra flour and increased the spices a bit. Cookies held their shape nicely. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This recipe was ok- not the best. I also had to add a lot more flour to get a dough that wouldn't stick to everything it touched- and then it was still difficult to roll them out without having the shapes stretch in every direction when moved from the table to the cookie sheet. The spices were adequate, but I wish they would have been sweeter. Icing helps a bit. They would probably make a great gingerbread house, however, because the finished product was very solid and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I made 5 dozen of these cookies for my work and everyone just loved them. This is an excellent and easy recipe. I'm baking more then weekend for Christmas. I would definitely recommend this to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I have been looking for a great gingerbread cookies for several years and was reticent to try this recipe because of some reviews. With revisions, it turned out to be the best 'so far.' I took reviewers' advice of doubling the spices, though the cinnamon was then overpowering so I will change that to 1 1/2 times. I also added 1 1/2 cups flour and baked at 350 degrees for 8-9 minutes. I suggest rolling them out at 1/4 inch for thick soft cookies. The lemon adds a subtle interesting flavor. They are very good, but not the perfect gingerbread cookie - yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I too had to add quite a bit more flour than the recipe called for...probably about 1-1 1/2cups. But they are still my favorite and they always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This gingerbread recipe is great. I have three suggestions though, 1) Use Sorghum Molasses. It is not a strong type of molasses and works great. 2) Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes before even trying to work with it. When the dough becomes too warm it doesn't want to roll out good and cutting it can be hard. So shill it and it works much better. 3) You are going to need way more flour than it calls for. Maybe even a cup or more. But the cook great. Taste great. Decorate wonderfully, I just love the smell. So, great recipe! woo hoo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslaurap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
yummy! the only thing i did was double the spices-i did not add extra flour like others did-because i chilled it overnight and used flour when rolling it out. if you like soft cookies, leave the dough thicker when rolling it out-and i made a yummy homemade cream cheese frosting-the best gingerbread cookies! If it didn't turn out for others, they didn't do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
great simple sauce, even better with meatballs. (even for an italian that NEVER puts onions in the sauce!) No changes. The church youth group made it as part of the italian night dinner team building event. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States