Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This recipe was ok- not the best. I also had to add a lot more flour to get a dough that wouldn't stick to everything it touched- and then it was still difficult to roll them out without having the shapes stretch in every direction when moved from the table to the cookie sheet. The spices were adequate, but I wish they would have been sweeter. Icing helps a bit. They would probably make a great gingerbread house, however, because the finished product was very solid and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I made 5 dozen of these cookies for my work and everyone just loved them. This is an excellent and easy recipe. I'm baking more then weekend for Christmas. I would definitely recommend this to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I have been looking for a great gingerbread cookies for several years and was reticent to try this recipe because of some reviews. With revisions, it turned out to be the best 'so far.' I took reviewers' advice of doubling the spices, though the cinnamon was then overpowering so I will change that to 1 1/2 times. I also added 1 1/2 cups flour and baked at 350 degrees for 8-9 minutes. I suggest rolling them out at 1/4 inch for thick soft cookies. The lemon adds a subtle interesting flavor. They are very good, but not the perfect gingerbread cookie - yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I too had to add quite a bit more flour than the recipe called for...probably about 1-1 1/2cups. But they are still my favorite and they always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This gingerbread recipe is great. I have three suggestions though, 1) Use Sorghum Molasses. It is not a strong type of molasses and works great. 2) Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes before even trying to work with it. When the dough becomes too warm it doesn't want to roll out good and cutting it can be hard. So shill it and it works much better. 3) You are going to need way more flour than it calls for. Maybe even a cup or more. But the cook great. Taste great. Decorate wonderfully, I just love the smell. So, great recipe! woo hoo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslaurap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
yummy! the only thing i did was double the spices-i did not add extra flour like others did-because i chilled it overnight and used flour when rolling it out. if you like soft cookies, leave the dough thicker when rolling it out-and i made a yummy homemade cream cheese frosting-the best gingerbread cookies! If it didn't turn out for others, they didn't do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
great simple sauce, even better with meatballs. (even for an italian that NEVER puts onions in the sauce!) No changes. The church youth group made it as part of the italian night dinner team building event. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I lost my usual recipe for GB Cookies then found this one....Followed this recipe to a "T" - also left the dough in the fridge for about 10 hours before rolling it out and baking. I left them in for approx. 9-10 mins on parchment. Perfect amount of spice, excellent texture! Thank you thank you! This one is so much better than the one I lost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizJennaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vanderhoof, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
The dough was too sticky. We added at least 1 1/2 cups of flour more than called for. The dough was still sticky. It was sticking to my non-stick rolling pin and after we cut the cookies out they were sticking to the table even though we floured that. We ended making drop cookies rolled in sugar. The cookies ended up being dry because of all the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I found that I needed about 1 1/2 cups more flour than needed in the recipe. Spiced perfectly. Set oven to 350 and bake for only 8 minutes for softer cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States