Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I used the user's comment and added more cinnamon and substituted 1/2 of the molasses for maple syrup as well as more flour. I also put the dough into the fridge for several hours before baking. It turned out very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aiylan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I personally don't like gingerbread but i made the recipe for my friends little sister and she loved it. I must say I burned them a bit though. I won't keep them in as long next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was very happy with this recipe. The flavor was excellent. I did have to make a few sustitutions for ingredients as follows- butter flavor shortening for margarine, half n half for evaporated milk and 1 T lemon juice for 3/4 tsp lemon extract. I found the softer dough from not chilling easy to work with. I made very large hearts out of this recipe and it was a little tricky transferring to cookie sheet but the end product is just what I was looking for - extra large tasty cookies to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very frustrated by this recipe. I added much more flour than listed and chilled the dough, but it was still too sticky to work with. For me, it was a waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faeriecat
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
After some tweaking, this recipe yielded excellent cookies. The first time I followed it to the letter and ended up with a sticky, bland mess. Definitely not enough flour, and we like our gingerbread spicy around here. So the second time I added a LOT more flour (like over a whole cup) to get the dough nice and firm so that it could handle shaped cookie cutters, and then I chilled it in a covered bowl in the fridge overnight. I also nearly doubled the amount of spices. These changes made all the difference, and the end result was a chewy, spicy, savory cookie that stood up to decorating very well and stored nicely too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have never made gingerbread cookies and came across this recipe. I knew my girls didn't like a really strong gingerbread so I didn't add the extra spices but I did add the extra flour and they turned out perfect. Thank!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up adding a bit more flour. The key is to refrigerate the dough to harden it. Tasty cookies. I added icing on top. Could add more seasoning for stronger flavor but not necessary. Will use again. I gave it a "4" star because cutouts are more difficult and I like gingerbread but it is not my favorite cookie flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Such an amazing scrumtious cookie!!!! Soooo Soft! I refridgerated the dough for an hour - that way I didn't need much flour for rolling out. I made a batch a week ago and they are still soft and delicious! Everyone in my family has been raving about this recipe! Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Kolar-Landeros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroy, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
One minor change makes this recipe perfect- half the amount of molasses [blackstrap]. It makes an aromatic, spicy, robust and full-flavoured gingerbread with just the right amount of firmness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koifish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe was great! I made them for a Christmas get together and I have had many requests to make another batch for Christmas Day! Great job! I Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States