Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very frustrated by this recipe. I added much more flour than listed and chilled the dough, but it was still too sticky to work with. For me, it was a waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faeriecat
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
After some tweaking, this recipe yielded excellent cookies. The first time I followed it to the letter and ended up with a sticky, bland mess. Definitely not enough flour, and we like our gingerbread spicy around here. So the second time I added a LOT more flour (like over a whole cup) to get the dough nice and firm so that it could handle shaped cookie cutters, and then I chilled it in a covered bowl in the fridge overnight. I also nearly doubled the amount of spices. These changes made all the difference, and the end result was a chewy, spicy, savory cookie that stood up to decorating very well and stored nicely too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have never made gingerbread cookies and came across this recipe. I knew my girls didn't like a really strong gingerbread so I didn't add the extra spices but I did add the extra flour and they turned out perfect. Thank!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up adding a bit more flour. The key is to refrigerate the dough to harden it. Tasty cookies. I added icing on top. Could add more seasoning for stronger flavor but not necessary. Will use again. I gave it a "4" star because cutouts are more difficult and I like gingerbread but it is not my favorite cookie flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Such an amazing scrumtious cookie!!!! Soooo Soft! I refridgerated the dough for an hour - that way I didn't need much flour for rolling out. I made a batch a week ago and they are still soft and delicious! Everyone in my family has been raving about this recipe! Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Kolar-Landeros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroy, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
One minor change makes this recipe perfect- half the amount of molasses [blackstrap]. It makes an aromatic, spicy, robust and full-flavoured gingerbread with just the right amount of firmness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koifish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe was great! I made them for a Christmas get together and I have had many requests to make another batch for Christmas Day! Great job! I Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
wow! my first time eating/making gingerbread cookies and they were SOOO good!!! I did add an extra 1/4 c. of sugar, because i was afraid it would be bitter, after reading some of the reviews, and i can't imagine it tasting good w/o that extra sugar. It was still only mildly sweet, but that was great! also i did use and extra cup of flour. Thanks so much!! Out of the 4 cookies i made this christmas this was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Fantastic! No issues with stickiness, no extra flour added (like in some other reviews). I think there are two secrets to making these cookies great: 1. Use butter or margarine that does not have a high water content 2. The dough needs to rest and chill. If you live in Canada (or another colder climate), stick it outside to chill till the dough is quite firm - till it cuts cleanly with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Very good gingerbread cookie. Not the sweetest, I eat mine plain, but most people would prefer with icing. Absolutely needs and extra cup of flour and an hour in the fridge. Then they rolled out very easily on a floured board. I was worried with so much extra flour and increased the spices a bit. Cookies held their shape nicely. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States