Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
i too needed a lot of extra flour, at least a cup if not a cup and half to get the dough to be workable. i think it's because i had to add the extra flour that the cookies taste a little bland. i think i'm going to make another batch (as these aren't enough for my gift needs) and take the advice of doubling the spices. otherwise, not a bad recipe, just needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Absolutely Wonderful!!! I did take the advice of the other reviews and made a few changes. I doubled all of the spices as well as the vanilla. I used butter flavored crisco instead of the butter and 1/2 &1/2 in place of the milk. I also added a 5th cup of flour to the recipe and probably used another while rolling it out. I basted each cookie in powdered sugar water after it cooled and it kept them extra moist. I also put just a little butter cream icing on each one. YUMMY!!!! They were amazing. I made two batches for my husbands office and clients and they literally vanished. I wished I would have kept more for ourselves at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Changed: added 1/2 again as much spice & added 1/4 tsp grnd clove Taste: GREAT! Gingerbread Men: Awful! 375 is too hot for their little legs and arms which burnt before their bellies were cooked Better: cook at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I've made these cookies several times now and they are great! Not too soft, not to firm. I do add the extra fluor. My entire family loves them. My kids can be very critical and usually won't eat ginger bread, but they really enjoy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I had to use the extra flour as well as refrigerate the dough to keep it from sticking. I also only cooked them for about 8 or 9 minutes at 375 and they came out chewy which everyone enjoyed. I prefer them to be soft, but everyone else liked the chewiness of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe was really easy to make. I didn't have any clove or nutmeg but increased (pretty much doubled) the ginger and cinnamon a bit to make up for the taste. I took the advice of other and put the dough in the fridge for a while before using it to make cookies. I baked my cookies at 350 for 10mins and they came out perfect! My friends really liked the taste and how soft they were. Along with royal icing, these were really tasty. I think I put too much ginger. There was a kick to the cookies that I think would be too hot for younger kids. Would use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is my first time making Gingerbread Cookies! AND I LOVE THEM! THey are soft and with the right amount of spices. I added some decorations with royal icing and they are delicious. My 2 yr old son loved them. The only change I made was to add a dash of ground cloves & baked at 325 for about 7 min. Hope you enjoy as much as we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Excellent BUT remember bake at 325 NOT 375 for chewy soft gingerbread cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I followed the exact instructions and the cookies turned out horrible. I wasted my time and money baking these. I had to throw them all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States