Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is by far my favorite gingerbread cookie recipe ever! I added quite a bit of extra flour, probably almost 2 cups. Watch your baking time carefully! Cookies are done when you press lightly and the indent springs back. Cook these too long and they will be extremely hard. I love the full flavor and haven't changed a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Johnson Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. I didnt have the lemon extract so I left that out. I rolled the dough into balls and rolled in sugar to make drop cookies. Bake at 350 for about 15 min. for a chewy delicious gingerbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! I followed the advice of the other users and decreased my time to 8-10 mins, and decreased the heat 25 degrees. Other than that, I didn't chance anything else. It does take quite a bit of flour. I added the 1/2 cup suggested by the author, plus I used plenty while I was rolling the dough. I have no complaints. The flavor was fantastic, the cookies remained soft, and the recipe is easy. I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
They were really good! I've never made any gingerbread cookes before, but they were great. Other people's suggestions were correct, it needed a lot more flour, perhaps an entire cup more. But over all, easy to make and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this recipe last year and everyone loved it. Very moist and flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My husband, coworkers, and I really loved this recipe! I used butter instead of margarine, and ended up having to add at least an extra cup of flour. Even then, the cookies didn't hold their shape if I used cookie cutters, so I just made round cookies. Also, I only baked them about 8 minutes, so they were soft. To top them off, I made a cream cheese frosting which went really well with the flavor of the cookies. I'll definitely add this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Really great recipe. The cookies are delicious. I had to add a TON of flour and ended up just adding a little by hand and kneeding the dough before rolling some out. I only baked them for 8 mins and would recommend doing the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The first time i made these cookies I thought they tasted too molassesie. I made them a second time with just 1/2 Cup of molasses and they were perfect! Once we added frosting to the first batch of cookies it did cut down on the molasses tast but i do prefer them with less molasses. I will deffinatly stick with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was an odd recipe. I could not add enough flour to get it to a "workable" condition. I put them on the cookie sheet like chocolate chip cookies - in globs. It made for a very thick, very dense cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My cookie due was too dry (I may not have had enough molasses). I had to knead in some milk to save my dough. The cookies' flavor turned out good, but not as soft as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States