Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I don't typically like gingerbread cookies but I used this recipe for my son's class. The cookies were delicious!! I didn't have much success rolling and cutting so I baked on my silpat like a cookie cake and cut out after it cooled. I even got a request from a student's parent because her son like them and he doesn't typically like gingerbread either. I used butter instead of margarine otherwise everything was the same! Thanks MBMCD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Perfect cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
After failing attempts at a couple other gingerbread cookie recipes, I tried this one. I guess 3's the charm! After reading the reviews, I decided to double the spices. I used butter, and I substituted 1/2 c. rice flour for 1/2 c. of flour. In the end, I had to add an extra 1/2 c. of flour, so next time I'll use 4 c flour & 1 c of rice flour. I did refrigerate the dough & brought 1/2 out at a time to roll. The rolling texture was perfect. I experimented by baking each batch for different times (8, 9, & 10 mins. each) @ 325. They all taste great, but I will see how they are when they are all completely cool. Tomorrow we'll decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These ginger bread cookies barely had any flavor and you definitely can't cook them longer than 8 minutes (the 12 min. batch is now hanging on my Christmas tree as ornaments). I'll stick to my Martha Stewart Gingerbread Man recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is some of the best gingerbread I have tried. I accidentally used 1/2 c of butter instead of 1 c and I think it worked better .... I didn't have to add as much flour that way to get the dough to consistency for rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was nervous to try any gingerbread cookie recipe since the reviews are so polar opposites! Either people loved it, or vehemently hated it! I doubled all the spices and vanilla- I'm so glad I did. I probably could've gotten away with adding even more. I ran out of molasses, so I had to substitute... I used 1/2 Cup of melted piloncillo. I used the extra 1/2 Cup of flour the recipe suggested. Be aware that the cookie can turn out soft and cake-y, or totally crunchy, like a tea cookie depending on how long you bake it! Not only that, but they harden a decent amount as they cool. I wanted it somewhere in the middle. I found that baking it for 9 min at 350 got it hard enough to frost, but not to crisp my kids wouldn't like them. I haven't eaten a lot of gingerbread cookies before. These turned out good and were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Gonzales
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Fantastic recipe, made no changes. Made first batch as drop cookies because the dough tasted so good, and made a second batch to roll for cut outs. Did add about 1 cup extra flour per the recipe and was so nice rolling out. I don't like really strong molasses flavour, so used Fancy molasses instead of cooking. Makes a great cookie! Thank you! Our new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I really liked this recipe. It was easy and good. I did chill the dough-I was not baking the cookies right away. I also rolled it out between two sheets of wax paper to make it easier to handle. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Best gingerbread cookies I've ever made. I will always use this recipe now. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
SUMMARY: Sticky dough that baked up nicely with great texture. Bland. Substitutions & Changes below: I doubled the spices, used brown sugar instead of white and dark Karo syrup instead of molasses. I also added an extra cup of flour, then refrigerated until stiff. In my 77 degree house the dough quickly became melted and sticky. Freezing it first helped somewhat. My m-i-l thought the dough was spicy, I found the cookie to be very bland even with double spices. (I think I missed the cloves and molasses.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States