Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I had to add a lot more flour than the original recipe called for to make the dough. I also cooked the cookies for 8 minutes at 325. The results were some awesome cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I don't typically like gingerbread cookies but I used this recipe for my son's class. The cookies were delicious!! I didn't have much success rolling and cutting so I baked on my silpat like a cookie cake and cut out after it cooled. I even got a request from a student's parent because her son like them and he doesn't typically like gingerbread either. I used butter instead of margarine otherwise everything was the same! Thanks MBMCD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Perfect cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
After failing attempts at a couple other gingerbread cookie recipes, I tried this one. I guess 3's the charm! After reading the reviews, I decided to double the spices. I used butter, and I substituted 1/2 c. rice flour for 1/2 c. of flour. In the end, I had to add an extra 1/2 c. of flour, so next time I'll use 4 c flour & 1 c of rice flour. I did refrigerate the dough & brought 1/2 out at a time to roll. The rolling texture was perfect. I experimented by baking each batch for different times (8, 9, & 10 mins. each) @ 325. They all taste great, but I will see how they are when they are all completely cool. Tomorrow we'll decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These ginger bread cookies barely had any flavor and you definitely can't cook them longer than 8 minutes (the 12 min. batch is now hanging on my Christmas tree as ornaments). I'll stick to my Martha Stewart Gingerbread Man recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is some of the best gingerbread I have tried. I accidentally used 1/2 c of butter instead of 1 c and I think it worked better .... I didn't have to add as much flour that way to get the dough to consistency for rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was nervous to try any gingerbread cookie recipe since the reviews are so polar opposites! Either people loved it, or vehemently hated it! I doubled all the spices and vanilla- I'm so glad I did. I probably could've gotten away with adding even more. I ran out of molasses, so I had to substitute... I used 1/2 Cup of melted piloncillo. I used the extra 1/2 Cup of flour the recipe suggested. Be aware that the cookie can turn out soft and cake-y, or totally crunchy, like a tea cookie depending on how long you bake it! Not only that, but they harden a decent amount as they cool. I wanted it somewhere in the middle. I found that baking it for 9 min at 350 got it hard enough to frost, but not to crisp my kids wouldn't like them. I haven't eaten a lot of gingerbread cookies before. These turned out good and were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Fantastic recipe, made no changes. Made first batch as drop cookies because the dough tasted so good, and made a second batch to roll for cut outs. Did add about 1 cup extra flour per the recipe and was so nice rolling out. I don't like really strong molasses flavour, so used Fancy molasses instead of cooking. Makes a great cookie! Thank you! Our new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I really liked this recipe. It was easy and good. I did chill the dough-I was not baking the cookies right away. I also rolled it out between two sheets of wax paper to make it easier to handle. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Best gingerbread cookies I've ever made. I will always use this recipe now. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States