Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I thought this recipe produced great gingerbread cookies - and the quantity was large enough to take care of all my cookie-gifts for friends. I added loads of flour, though - maybe even a whole cup - the recipe should call for more flour, not make it optional. I used a bit of lemon zest since I didn't have extract on hand. And I substituted maple syrup for half the molasses, which probably improved the flavor, judging from others' reviews. Enjoy these cookies! Even with the extra flour they are soft, good for cutting with cookie cutters, and delicious. With many baked goods, it's important to mix all your dry ingredients separately from your wet ingredients, THEN add them together and mix JUST enough to blend. Overbeating after they are combined WILL result in a cardboard-like cookie, so be careful. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
THIS RECIPE WAS EASY TO MAKE, EASY TO ROLL OUT AND TASTED WONDERFUL! COOKING TIMES ALWAYS VARY ACCORDING TO THE HEAT OF YOUR OVEN; I ENDED UP COOKING MY COOKIES FOR ONLY 9 MINUTES. I ALSO USED THE EXTRA 1/2 CUP OF FLOUR, PLUS EXTRA FOR ROLLING OUT. THIS ONE IS A KEEPER AND I HAVE GIVEN IT OUT TO 3 OTHER PEOPLE ALREADY. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made these cookies with my 7 and 10-year-old granddaughters. The recipe was easy for the kids to follow, and the cookies came out great, even when I cut the recipe by 1/2 (so we wouldn't be at it all day). I left out the lemon extract, because they said "ewww", but I'm going to put it in next time. I thought the taste was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Very simple recipe! Great for cookies or creating a house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Heroux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This recipe resulted in cookies that are very stiff. While other people say the cookies are "dense", I say you could break a tooth them. This recipe probably is a truly traditional gingerbread recipe, but I will search for something softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
These are delicious! I find that cookie tastes are subjective and what is the "ultimate gingerbread cookie" varies from person to person. I like to know there are spices in my gingerbread and dislike overly sweet cookies. These are well spiced and with a nice solid texture. They definitely have a warm, cozy old fashioned feel about them. They also smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Delicious! You may wonder why on earth I was baking gingerbread in August. My twin girls saw an episode of "Little Bear" where they were baking Gingerbread Men and they wanted to make some so I said, "Okay!" I think this recipe is really good! I used orange instead of lemon extract because the store didn't have lemon. The dough was very easy to work with and not too sticky. I added about 1/4 cup extra flour and then used more flour on the surface and rolling pin while rolling them out. I will definitely try these again at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
this was great! Even those who don't like gingerbread liked this recipe at our house. I think the lemon extract is the key! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
When my husband begged me to cook and make homemade cookies from scratch for our Christmas dinner with his parents and I realized his definition of making it from "scratch" wasnt same as mine (Betty Cracker or Mac & Chz), I was bit nervous, but this recipe was wonderful! Being a newbie in the kitchen since now it's my duty since I'm a wife :), it made it very easy for beginners like me! Boy, have I wasted lots of food trying to cook from normal cookbooks! Not only was it my first try, these cookies were eatable and yummy!! It was perfect! Now my husband said I dont have any excuses that I cant cook from scratch. (For now.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
These really do taste like the cookies from Colonial Williamsburg, but I could NOT roll them out no matter what I tried (more flour, wax paper, cooking spray). So, I rolled them into balls, and they baked into perfect circles. Good for taste, terrible for making cut-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States