Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Very simple recipe! Great for cookies or creating a house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLASSGIRL25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This recipe resulted in cookies that are very stiff. While other people say the cookies are "dense", I say you could break a tooth them. This recipe probably is a truly traditional gingerbread recipe, but I will search for something softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
These are delicious! I find that cookie tastes are subjective and what is the "ultimate gingerbread cookie" varies from person to person. I like to know there are spices in my gingerbread and dislike overly sweet cookies. These are well spiced and with a nice solid texture. They definitely have a warm, cozy old fashioned feel about them. They also smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Delicious! You may wonder why on earth I was baking gingerbread in August. My twin girls saw an episode of "Little Bear" where they were baking Gingerbread Men and they wanted to make some so I said, "Okay!" I think this recipe is really good! I used orange instead of lemon extract because the store didn't have lemon. The dough was very easy to work with and not too sticky. I added about 1/4 cup extra flour and then used more flour on the surface and rolling pin while rolling them out. I will definitely try these again at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
this was great! Even those who don't like gingerbread liked this recipe at our house. I think the lemon extract is the key! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
When my husband begged me to cook and make homemade cookies from scratch for our Christmas dinner with his parents and I realized his definition of making it from "scratch" wasnt same as mine (Betty Cracker or Mac & Chz), I was bit nervous, but this recipe was wonderful! Being a newbie in the kitchen since now it's my duty since I'm a wife :), it made it very easy for beginners like me! Boy, have I wasted lots of food trying to cook from normal cookbooks! Not only was it my first try, these cookies were eatable and yummy!! It was perfect! Now my husband said I dont have any excuses that I cant cook from scratch. (For now.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
These really do taste like the cookies from Colonial Williamsburg, but I could NOT roll them out no matter what I tried (more flour, wax paper, cooking spray). So, I rolled them into balls, and they baked into perfect circles. Good for taste, terrible for making cut-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I've tried many gingerbread recipes (including mom's) and found Mary's to be the best. It is always reliable, easy to cut and very tastey. I am practically in factory mode every christmas making huge amount of these cookies since it's sooooo popular at home and at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This was Bad! Like a mouthful of butter and molasses! WAY too molasses-y and dense. Sorry, Colonial Williamsburg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This is a good recipe for gingerbread. My sons's best friend actually offered me his weeks allowance if I would make them for him again! They were a little strong tasting for me but that could be the type of molasses I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States