Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Delicious, soft, chewy and moist. I also did not have lemon extract; I used imitation almond instead. And, I made them as drop cookies instead of rolling them. Both my kids loved them, as did the neighbors' kids. They asked for more! They also freeze well (mine were only frozen for a couple weeks, as they were in demand again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redding, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Cookies were nice and soft but lacked any flavor....was dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very yummy and good for holiday parties! I made the traditional round cookies because I didn't care enough to make gingerbread men though. Tastes great and the cookie turns out soft/dense. I can see how overbaking could make the great denseness of the gingerbread hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was a good recipe. I've never made gingerbread before and found this to be an easy recipe to follow. The only thing is that it doesn't indicate to chill the dough for awhile and I discovered this from reading other recipes. After I chilled it, it was easy to roll out and cut into gingerbread men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is a keeper.Not to strong on the spices really delicious,This will be our christmas cookie from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I have been looking for a soft gingerbread cookie and this one was the best. Great taste and easy to cut into gingerbread men. I did add the extra flour that was optional. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
A friend and I made these with our 3 children for them to cut out and decorate. They made a TON of cookies, but maybe because we had to add so mucn flour. I'll bet we added close to 2 cups extra. We used orange extract since we didn't have lemon, and the taste was fine. The kids had fun with the process, and their dads enjoyed the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I thought this recipe produced great gingerbread cookies - and the quantity was large enough to take care of all my cookie-gifts for friends. I added loads of flour, though - maybe even a whole cup - the recipe should call for more flour, not make it optional. I used a bit of lemon zest since I didn't have extract on hand. And I substituted maple syrup for half the molasses, which probably improved the flavor, judging from others' reviews. Enjoy these cookies! Even with the extra flour they are soft, good for cutting with cookie cutters, and delicious. With many baked goods, it's important to mix all your dry ingredients separately from your wet ingredients, THEN add them together and mix JUST enough to blend. Overbeating after they are combined WILL result in a cardboard-like cookie, so be careful. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
THIS RECIPE WAS EASY TO MAKE, EASY TO ROLL OUT AND TASTED WONDERFUL! COOKING TIMES ALWAYS VARY ACCORDING TO THE HEAT OF YOUR OVEN; I ENDED UP COOKING MY COOKIES FOR ONLY 9 MINUTES. I ALSO USED THE EXTRA 1/2 CUP OF FLOUR, PLUS EXTRA FOR ROLLING OUT. THIS ONE IS A KEEPER AND I HAVE GIVEN IT OUT TO 3 OTHER PEOPLE ALREADY. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made these cookies with my 7 and 10-year-old granddaughters. The recipe was easy for the kids to follow, and the cookies came out great, even when I cut the recipe by 1/2 (so we wouldn't be at it all day). I left out the lemon extract, because they said "ewww", but I'm going to put it in next time. I thought the taste was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States