Gingerbread Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Yum! I just finished cooking these in the oven, and man, the smell is delicious! I've never really been a fan of gingerbread, but can i just say, these taste delicious! The only reason I made these was because we needed to make taste testers for our GALA Day at our school, I was on cooking duty and managed to sneak one biscuit in before handing them in! I did add the one tablespoon vinegar, as all the comments suggested. Credit to whoever made this, hopefully there will be a lot more compliments as everyone tries one tomorrow! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I added the 1 tablespoon vinegar that has been suggested as well and these cookies were fabulous! When putting them in jars, I recommend splitting the first flour mixture in half and layering flour, 1/2-cup brown sugar, flour, 1/2-cup brown sugar. Then finishing off with the spices. Makes it easier to pack down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Don't know what I'm doing wrong but I simply can't fit all the ingredients into a quart jar. I've been pushing it down like crazy but it just won't work. Too bad! They smell delicious and it looks like a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was a great gift for a friend at Christmas, but you need a really big jar to fit all the dry ingredients in. From the picture the jar doesn't look that big, but I had to use 2 big spaghetti jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
As is, this recipe does NOT fit in a quart sized jar. There are more than 4.5 C's of ingredients to fit into a 4 C jar, sadly, I didn't realize that until it was too late. My pretty gift-jars come with an extra baggie of 1/2 C flour/spice mixture! So, adjust the recipe/servings accordingly. I baked them first to see if they were yummy and, with the other reviewers suggestions they were! Soft and chewy, the way I like my gingerbread. Adjustments made: -halved all spices except cinnamon -added 1 TBSP of vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My family loves the crunch and snap of gingerbread. These cookies have become a holiday must have. Halve all of the spices except for cinnamon. Can be made without allspice in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made a batch for my family and I did add the 1 Tablespoon of vinegar as was recommended and they came out perfect… so I then proceeded to make 12 more jars for Christmas gifts. They are amazing! I handed them out yesterday, and I’ve already received five phone calls asking for the specifications to the measurements so more could be made. I compressed everything when measuring and added the flour mixtures in the jar about a ½ cup at a time, and there was plenty of room to spare at the top. Just be sure to watch them in the oven, and check on them... for ours, they were done in aproximately 9-10 minutes. Also, if you are making many jars of this recipe, as I did, I found that about four jars takes up roughly one 5 pound bag of flour (with about 1-1/2 C left over) and roughly one 2 pound bag of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is my 3rd year making these cookies. At Christmas time, this recipes has become my speciality cookie. Everyone will request I make them a batch. I place two cookies in a cookie bag and decorate with ribbon. I even have gingerbread parties--the kids and adults like decorating them. What a way to give instead of gift buying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I found this to be a wonderful recipe. It is true that the cookies come out a littel hard. I baked mine for seven minnutes. They soften up nicily if you put frosting on them and let them sit for a while. It is also helpful to use the suggested changes from the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States