Gingerbread Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Measurements are CRAZY! I doubled the sugar, but it was still too thin! It made gingerbread men soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe! It tastes great and does not take long to make. Thank you! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
While I found that 1/4 cup of milk was too much (especially when doubling the recipe and using 1/2 cup), I also found that it allowed me to just dump in the rest of the powdered sugar in the bag and not have to take up space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
The first time I made this, it was a wonderful glaze that my boyfriend and I used to finger paint the cookies. :) However, the second time, I simply used 1/8 cup of milk instead of the 1/4. And it was perfect for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
DEFINITELY WAAAAY too much milk!! I had to put a total of 4 cups of sugar to make it the right consistency. It had no flavor other than powder sugar - I added 1 tsp lemon extract and it was better - but still not that great. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Please note that the directions do not say to add the entire 1/4 cup of milk, it states to add ENOUGH milk to make a smooth but not too runny consistency. So all of those who are blaming the recipe for being too runny should blame themselves for not following directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
After reading some of the reviews, I stuck with the given ingredients, found it was RUNNY! I was looking for a recipe that hardens, but it was really runny at room temperature. So, I added a bunch of confectioners sugar in addition to the given ingredients, more than a cup. Then I tried it on one of my cookies. Putting all the icing in a plastic bag (make sure you don't use a sandwich bag or one with a poor seal). Taking a knife, spread on the icing before it dries. Won't be able to spread real thin unless you have the tools --which I didn't. Good luck with yours and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Good recipe, though I prefer the milk and sugar icing version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great! I added LOTS (entire bag) more powdered sugar to make it less of an "icing" and more of a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
For once I didn't read the reviews first and suffered for it. This is NOT frosting. It is a glaze. 1/4 cup milk is way too much and it will be runny. I wanted a recipe to make smiley faces and buttons on my gingerbread men. Even with an additional cup of powdered sugar, it was still too runny. Now I'm out of milk. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States