Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very easy and not too sweet - perfect with a scoop of ice cream. If the cake sank in the middle it was either under cooked - check with a tooth pick in the center or your batter was too wet. Mine took exactly 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Not quite sure what to rate it. The taste is fantastic but the cake was sunken in the middle and it was very crumbly... Updated: I live at 6000ft and I believe that the ingredient combination here is rather difficult for high altitude. I tried the Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread recipe from here also and that worked at over 7000 ft. So, if you live at high altitudes, I might suggest using the proportions in that recipe and the adjust the spices according to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Brilliant! Not too sweet, and the glaze is amazing. Made according to recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
For me, there was just too much molasses, if I make this again I will half it. Otherwise good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I really liked the molasses flavor and spiciness of this cake! I think the lemon glaze is also a nice touch - it makes it feel a little fancier, but you can still put whipped cream on it. I made it twice, exactly as directed, and 35 mins was a perfect cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It was AWESOME! I was a little skeptical about the lemon glaze, and it was certainly interesting. But not in a bad way. This is definitely going into our keeper file. With or without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Ilove this simple recipe. I will change this-no boiling water, no molasses, no spice except almond extract- 1/8 tea. 2 tablespoons dry ground ginger, fresh Tumeric in grinder 6 tablespoons. MMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Is perfect!!! my kids loved it, is not to sweet. I did it just like the recipe says and it didn't sank. I cut the molasses a little. Jus a great cake and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was PERFECT. The cake was unlike what we were expecting when we had a taste of the batter before cooking, but we were pleasantly surprised. I did improvise a little with the spices due to my bag of cinnamon being a bit old, but it was perfectly spiced. I loved the glaze, but I'm curious to see what it would be like with a caramel icing. A local retailer sells a cake similar to this and they top it with caramel icing, my boyfriend raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyxnx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States