Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is definitely moist and very easy to make. The texture is wonderful, but the lemon glaze just doesn't work for me (and I like lemon!). My husband thinks it is "OK" and he is extremely easy to please. The Chinese Five Spice adds a bit of a black licorice flavor, which really stood out, so next time I will leave that out. I used 2 1/2 tsp of ginger and it was not enough for us, so I will probably use 4 tsp of ginger. I will replace the lemon glaze with a ginger/cinnamon glaze (1 cup powdered sugar, 1/4 cup milk, ginger and cinnamon to taste. To reduce the oil, I used about 3 TBSP of oil and the remainder of the 1/2 cup was milk and some cream. I always do this when oil is called for in quick breads, cakes, etc and it always works (using just milk works, too, though the fat from the cream gives a nice rich texture. Chef John's techniques are great! I love his videos and am still learning...how fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
It was AWESOME! I was a little skeptical about the lemon glaze, and it was certainly interesting. But not in a bad way. This is definitely going into our keeper file. With or without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I really liked the molasses flavor and spiciness of this cake! I think the lemon glaze is also a nice touch - it makes it feel a little fancier, but you can still put whipped cream on it. I made it twice, exactly as directed, and 35 mins was a perfect cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I tried this but was disappointed. Too dry even with the lemon glaze. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Ilove this simple recipe. I will change this-no boiling water, no molasses, no spice except almond extract- 1/8 tea. 2 tablespoons dry ground ginger, fresh Tumeric in grinder 6 tablespoons. MMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I have been trying to find a good gingerbread recipe for such a long time,My mom use to make gingerbread with lemon sauce when I was a child.thank you for posting this, I will be trying it very soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Is perfect!!! my kids loved it, is not to sweet. I did it just like the recipe says and it didn't sank. I cut the molasses a little. Jus a great cake and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was PERFECT. The cake was unlike what we were expecting when we had a taste of the batter before cooking, but we were pleasantly surprised. I did improvise a little with the spices due to my bag of cinnamon being a bit old, but it was perfectly spiced. I loved the glaze, but I'm curious to see what it would be like with a caramel icing. A local retailer sells a cake similar to this and they top it with caramel icing, my boyfriend raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyxnx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Too much molasses.Have had better ginger ckaes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
It was too much molasses for us. It was just okay. I would not make it again. I had the same problem like some of the other reviews, it sank in the middle, not a lot, but did just a bit. But it was not undercooked in the middle or anything like that. I kept it 6 minutes longer than the recipe said but likely that is just my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States