Gingerbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I've been looking for a recipe like this! I did substitute the shortening for a stick of butter. YUM. I like that there's only one stick of butter though in the whole cake. Very moist and flavorful, simple to make. Also a side benefit, aromatherapy for the home while it's cooking! I didn't have an orange so I just made a simple powdered sugar glaze. As Emeril would say.. Happy Happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
this is a lovely cake! the only things i did differently are i subbed canola oil for the solid shortening and used 2 t of ginger. will go well with my morning cup of coffee :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
HOLY COW this is delicious! I nearly gave it 5 stars just for the batter (which I totally ate off the spoons), but am glad I waited. If I could give this recipe 6 stars - I would. I didn't make the orange glaze, but made a simple vanilla glaze instead. De-lish-us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent! I followed the directions exactly, except I baked the cake in a bundt pan for 38-40 minutes. Served warm with the orange glaze. Tastes like Christmas! Next time I will double the orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this cake only, no sauce, but followed the direx exactly. My thoughts-- the cake texture was perfect, moist and springy, and just right- 5 stars for that. It also contained the perfect amount of sweetness. But it needed more spice, especially ginger. I would add twice as much ginger plus a half teaspoon of cloves as well. So 3 stars for taste. I also baked it in a 9x13 pan, so it took about 10 minutes longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I subbed the shortening with butter, and the water with milk. Then cooked it in a pie plate, and 'topped' it with diced apples and cinnamon-sugar. After cooking it (for about 35-40 minutes) and cooling it, I turned it over and drizzled the orange glaze over it. It's delicious! And so autumn-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikki Welter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Everyone loved this moist cake. Make sure to get the icing on when the cake is still warm or you can heat it up before enjoying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1tsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This cake was so moist it practically melted in your mouth . The only thing I did different from the recipe was subbed butter for shortning, and had to put about a 1/8 cup of white corn syrup because I didn't have enough molasses. I also baked in a tube pan for about 30 minutes. I am not a big fan of molasses but this really brought out the taste of the ginger. I really liked this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this cake following the recipe for a holiday party, baked in a bundt pan for 45 mins at 350, glazed with the suggested orange sauce, and it was awesome! the cake was not too sweet and complemented perfectly by the sauce. great recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This Gingerbread cake was so good it reminded me of growing up my mom would always make it and this taste as close to hers as possible. I used butter in place of shortening and sprinkled powdered sugar on top when it came out of oven. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States