Gingerbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This cake was so moist it practically melted in your mouth . The only thing I did different from the recipe was subbed butter for shortning, and had to put about a 1/8 cup of white corn syrup because I didn't have enough molasses. I also baked in a tube pan for about 30 minutes. I am not a big fan of molasses but this really brought out the taste of the ginger. I really liked this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very good, mosit, full flavor cake. I made it with a stick of butter as others did. I also peeled and medium chopped 2 ripe pears and folded into the batter just before pouring in the pan. It was really good. Thanks for sharing ;0) Gail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious, not too sweet, lots of flavour, perfect with the orange glaze. I squeezed fresh oranges instead of using orange juice and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
this is a lovely cake! the only things i did differently are i subbed canola oil for the solid shortening and used 2 t of ginger. will go well with my morning cup of coffee :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent! I followed the directions exactly, except I baked the cake in a bundt pan for 38-40 minutes. Served warm with the orange glaze. Tastes like Christmas! Next time I will double the orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This Gingerbread cake was so good it reminded me of growing up my mom would always make it and this taste as close to hers as possible. I used butter in place of shortening and sprinkled powdered sugar on top when it came out of oven. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
AMAZING! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great! I will be making this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this cake following the recipe for a holiday party, baked in a bundt pan for 45 mins at 350, glazed with the suggested orange sauce, and it was awesome! the cake was not too sweet and complemented perfectly by the sauce. great recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I subbed the shortening with butter, and the water with milk. Then cooked it in a pie plate, and 'topped' it with diced apples and cinnamon-sugar. After cooking it (for about 35-40 minutes) and cooling it, I turned it over and drizzled the orange glaze over it. It's delicious! And so autumn-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikki Welter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I've been looking for a recipe like this! I did substitute the shortening for a stick of butter. YUM. I like that there's only one stick of butter though in the whole cake. Very moist and flavorful, simple to make. Also a side benefit, aromatherapy for the home while it's cooking! I didn't have an orange so I just made a simple powdered sugar glaze. As Emeril would say.. Happy Happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States