Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This is my first experience making gingerbread cookies and I was pleasantly surprised. I was dubious while preparing the dough, because it seemed so light in color, so I made a test cookie before chilling. At 9 minutes I had a wonderful lite cookie that was golden around the edges and slightly chewy in the middle. Yum! ...I don't have kids to test on, but I think they would like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
I've been making Gingerbread Men for over 30 years.I thought I'd try something new this year.I followed everything to the letter.My little niece & I brought the dough out of the fridge one Saturday morning to begin. All I can say is that these are awful !!! They spread all over the pan & make a total mess.They don't taste that great either.I'll never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
A good recipe for people who don't like gingerbread. I live in Hong Kong and this is the only gingerbread cookie recipe I've found that many family and friends actually like - not too spicy for local tastes but just spicy enough for a gingerbread cookie lover. The orange peel is the trick, I think...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I thought I'd try something different this year, since not everyone is crazy about gingerbread men and I feel compelled to make them each Christmas. This recipe was fantastic! The dough worked up as easy or easier than regular gingerbread, they baked light and crispy/chewy, had a beautiful color and a wonderfully light orange taste. Everyone who tried them loved them. I highly recommend them to anyone who marginally likes gingerbread men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I have never made gingerbread cookies before. These turned out great & all my family loves them..they are very easy to work with. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I thought that these cookies tasted good, I like the hint of orange and the fact that they don't need to be frosted. The dough was especially hard to work with as it wanted break up when I tried to roll it out. If I attempted them again I would start with a little less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I really liked this recipe. Im an inexperienced cook and this was one of the first recipes i've tried. I wanted to have an old fashioned christmas so I dedided to make popcorn garland and gingerbread men so this recipe was perfect. I think it was extremely hard to stir in the last 3 cups of flour though, its a lot easier if you mix the ingrediants in a fairly large bowl and knead in the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I am not that fond of gingerbread cookies but my son insisted that we make some. I searched for a good recipe and thought this one sounded good, so we tried it. It was wonderful!! I could have just eaten the dough. But...I did bake them up and every night my two kids decorate one to eat. However, I prefer my cookies a little chewy so I baked them for only 8 minutes (for a 3"x4" man). Give it a try. You'll love the orange zest in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Melt in your mouth good! I made some substitutions: molasses for dark corn syrup and lemon zest for orange, and I added a little more ginger. I read previous reveiws re: the difficulty stirring in the flour so I cut the dry ingredients in with a pastry blender, kneaded it into a ball and it was a breeze. The kids helped decorate and we shared with neighbours. These cookies will become a Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
These were just okay. I added double the amount of corn syrup and ginger. Did not have that much taste in my opinion. Probaly would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States