Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My changes- standard high altitude adjustments and I left out the orange zest. I liked the flavor- some spice but not over powering like some recipes I have tried. I did not have any trouble incorporating or working the dough, but as others have mentioned, these spread a lot. I tried several different layouts on the sheet and sizes of cutters, but could not get it to hold a good shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very yummy and easy to work with! Just watch the time in the oven, I over-baked the first batch. 8 minutes was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is the best gingerbread recipe I have ever had. I went to an open house Christmas tour this weekend and they were baking these in a cast iron stove. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I think these are delicious! I used molassas instead of corn syrup and doubled all the spices. I mixed the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl and then added to the wet. I found them a little hard to roll out, but just have to work it slowly! I brought them to a party and everyone loved them. I did not add the orange because I don't like orange. I will make them again and try to make sheets and make a house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Best Gingerbread Cookies I have EVER eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
They tasted pretty good! I will use this recipe in the future. Love the orange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrem3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this with xylitol and agave nectar instead of sugar and corn syrup. It turned out great. Quite delicious. The batter was a little dry but I haven't tried the recipe "as is" yet to compare, to see if the substitution was the culprit. Will be using this recipe for Christmas gifts so hopefully will be able to compare soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flintstone, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great recipe! I substituted 3 Tbs. molasses for the corn syrup, as others suggested. They didn't plump up as much as some cookies do, so you have to roll the dough a little thicker if you want a thicker cookie. Also, they spread out quite a bit, so you have to allow extra space between the cookies when you place them on the pan. This will be my go-to gingerbread cookie recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Best gingerbread cookies ever. I've made Martha's, Jeff Smith's, and many others. This is my favorite. I doubled the spices and used the zest of a whole orange. The end result tastes like those Biscoff cookies you used to get on airplanes. Perfect with coffee or tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! There was a hint of orange, the only thing that I would change is to substitute the dark corn syrup for molases making it just a bit sweeter. "Visual Impact" also made it easier for me to continue to eat these goodies seeing as I'm getting a little bit sweet myself. Check out this url and I assure you eating these treats will be easier too http://66284myp-cjepx7hngmkr5iect.hop.clickbank.net/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States