Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
best gingerbread dough I have ever worked with! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I changed the spices some - 1 1/2t ginger, 1 1/2t cinnamon, 1/8t cloves - & I didn't "do" the orange bit; but I'm still gonna rate it. Using the spices as I did, it was a very light gingerbread taste. I don't see how using more cinnamon than ginger would give it a more gingerbread taste (enough to call it gingerbread even). 'Think these are more of a spice cookie. The cookies are fine, but not exactly a great choice for cutouts - as someone else said. They aren't bad, but details blur. Just okay. I didn't have a problem rolling after refrigerating then letting warm up some. I subbed honey for dark corn syrup. If you like the light taste (& color btw), maybe just "log" it & slice. :) A few days later: Just told by the 14yr old boy, I'd have to make 'em again. :? Really?!? Guess I'll be the one using the log & roll tip! :D (Oh, used a simple vanilla glaze with 'em - tasted like the cinnamon roll frosting from Pillsbury) To sum it up, three stars from me; but up to four since the kids actually had a positive comment. :D Big news - well, kind of - there's no need to grease the pan. The flour will keep them from sticking. Greasing the pan will make them spread more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I liked these a lot first time ever making gingerbread. My guest were half and half some didnt like the orange flavor I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe rocks. I'd never made gingerbread before, and not only was this really easy, but the results were delicious - a new favourite, and appeals to both traditional gingerbread fans and those who like cookies but not necessarily traditional gingerbread! Light texture, beautifully spiced, easy to work with and roll out, and the orange peel is a wonderful touch. I substituted brown Demerara sugar for the white sugar and it worked out really well. To answer some earlier comments: a) to roll out after chilling, I found I had to cut the dough into quarters then the small pieces were easier to roll out (while still chilled); b) I had to watch not to roll these too thin (not less than 1/4 in.), and to watch the time and not bake longer than 10 min., or they would singe or get too "crispy" (overdone); c) also by rolling out and using the cookie cutters on only a quarter of the dough at a time, it mostly avoided the problem of the dough getting too warm and soft to roll out/cut since you were always working with dough that was still a bit chilled up until the last few cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
THE BEST 4 STARS GINGERBREAD COOKIE RECIPE EVER ! I must of read/reviewed and tasted over 100s of these GB recipes from friends and family over a couple of years and I almost gave up trying out my own. I give this first batch 4 stars only because it was abit bland for me and my husband but perfect for my toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are difficult to roll out. The flavor is really good but it needs more ginger and at least 3 Tbsp real molasses instead of 2 Tbsp corn syrup to make it more like gingerbread. Overall I wouldn't throw the recipe away because it tastes great. But I would use a different recipe if you want to use cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I loved the flavor of these boys. However they were really flat, too crisp, and didn't hold the shape very well. I think next time I'll bake them at a little lower temperature. Any other advice to solve this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
very good, i like the taste of orange in there too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were good but need more spice flavor. I even added nutmeg and cardamon and doubled the molasses ( instead of corn syrup). I loved the dough. It was very easy to work with. They just didn't taste like a GINGERbread cookie. I'll keep looking for the perfect one for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
the flavor was DELICIOUS. I would like to try these with less baking soda, they poofed up too big and lost their shape when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States