Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Just like some of the previous reviewers mentioned, this cookie does taste great. It's moist and orange zest is great. However, it is quite greasy and it does spread out and puff out a lot. It is also very difficult to keep from breaking if you have any cutouts with smaller, thinner parts. I've tried this 3 times and although we enjoy the taste, I will look for other recipes, because it's such a pain to work with even after refrigerating overnight and using small batches while the rest waits in the fridge. You could use another cup of flour if you have the same issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The flavor is great! I was very dissapointed however that they didnt hold there shape AT ALL when they baked! I was super frustrated with the time that it takes to roll out cookies that don't even stay the shape you made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Excellent! The best Gingerbread I have tasted, since it not very gingerbready, instead it is sweeter. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I went the more natural route and used molasses instead of corn syrup...they came out delicious!! This year, going to try gingerbread house with this recipe...Nephew couldn't stop eating the dough lol...it's that good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Rincon
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow, these are wonderful, crisp and chewy at the same time. The orange peel adds so much to the spices. I too made a few changes, mainly using dark molassas and about 1/4 tsp. more of cinnamon. I used a pumpkin cookie cutter and made them for my grandkids for haloween. I will use this again at Christmas for cut out cookies. Oh I added about 1 tablespoon more molasses and rolled on floured partchment paper. No problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Rincon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
OH MY GOODNESS!! I was craving gingerbread cookies, but had no recipe for them. I tried a recipe on another site, with no sucess, until I found this!!! I did not have any dark corn syrup so I substituted for blackstrap molasses. I hate the taste of molasses, but these cookies were perfectly balanced and delicious. Even my hubby, who isn't a gingerbread fan, loves them!! I found I had to add a little water to the chilled dough as mine was a little crumbly, but otherwise they were perfect!!! Will definitely be baking again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
AMAZING flavour and crispy - just how I like it. I rated 4 because it is humid here in Singapore and it is just impossible to cut out the gingerbread men as the dough became sticky fast. So i worked in batches, just enough dough taken out from the fridge to fit one baking tray. I rolled out the dough on lightly floured baking paper, pressed down the cookie cutter and before I removed the cookie cutter, I peeled away the extra dough around it. I was left with the gingerbread man and then I transferred that to the baking tray. It's time-consuming but I wouldn't trade the recipe for anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Amazing! the citrus flavor completely cancels out the weird aftertaste that most gingerbread cookies have. I made these for Christmas and everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laie, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
As someone who isn't a big fan of gingerbread, this recipe completely won me over. I substituted molasses for corn syrup and didn't have any ground cloves, but it was still delicious! Roll the dough thin or thick depending on how chewy/crispy you want them. Mmm. The whole house smelled like Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is seriously the best gingerbread I have had! I hated to give them away they were so good. The orange zest is really subtle but really puts this cookie above all the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States