Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is the best gingerbread cookie recipe I've tasted without a strong molasses flavor and with a taste of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I loved the taste of this recipe, but my gingerbread turned out kind of crumby. I made it work. My sons actually needed it for a school project and modeled it into their letters of their name and initials. Maybe I did something wrong, but mine did not roll out well. Like I said, I made it work. Anyone else have a similar problem. Was the dough supposed to be like that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gadacz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is really great. I have made both with and without the orange zest, and have found that the zest really adds a nice touch and flavor. I made these a few Christmases ago, and then again for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reinhard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Amazingly Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This has been my go to recipe for the past 5 years. I love the crisp gingerbread cookies and the orange zest adds an extra something. I make exactly as written and have always had good results. The kids are making some now to frost later for Santa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Just like some of the previous reviewers mentioned, this cookie does taste great. It's moist and orange zest is great. However, it is quite greasy and it does spread out and puff out a lot. It is also very difficult to keep from breaking if you have any cutouts with smaller, thinner parts. I've tried this 3 times and although we enjoy the taste, I will look for other recipes, because it's such a pain to work with even after refrigerating overnight and using small batches while the rest waits in the fridge. You could use another cup of flour if you have the same issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The flavor is great! I was very dissapointed however that they didnt hold there shape AT ALL when they baked! I was super frustrated with the time that it takes to roll out cookies that don't even stay the shape you made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Excellent! The best Gingerbread I have tasted, since it not very gingerbready, instead it is sweeter. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I went the more natural route and used molasses instead of corn syrup...they came out delicious!! This year, going to try gingerbread house with this recipe...Nephew couldn't stop eating the dough lol...it's that good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbarasue
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow, these are wonderful, crisp and chewy at the same time. The orange peel adds so much to the spices. I too made a few changes, mainly using dark molassas and about 1/4 tsp. more of cinnamon. I used a pumpkin cookie cutter and made them for my grandkids for haloween. I will use this again at Christmas for cut out cookies. Oh I added about 1 tablespoon more molasses and rolled on floured partchment paper. No problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States