Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
So yummy but I'm at altitude and might need some adjustment, they are didn't keep their shape and spread a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VegWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was an absolutely fantastic gingerbread cookie recipe. I did use the molasses instead of the corn syrup, eliminated the orange zest, and added a little more ginger, but it turned out fabulous. My cooks (ie. the kids) kept wanting to eat them when they came out. Other recipes I have tried the cookies broke or were bland. This one, they all stayed together and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used this cookie recipe last year and it was very good. Its a good dough to work with. I substituted molasses as some suggested. The orange can be a bit overpowering so the easy solution is to cut back on it and see how you like it. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Gingerbread cookies made by scratch are always best. But I found out that when in a pinch that using a gingerbread cake mix and adding extra flour to the dough to make stiff, works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
omg so i made these last year and my whole family loved them. i made 5 baches for christmas and they were gone before the clock hit 12 o'clock. these cookies are so good and tasty., you can taste the orange., but it's not a over powering. i love them so much i making them this year as well. i'll give some to teahcers, nieghbor, friends and family. the all time best cookiie of the season!! you'll love it.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alistar24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My family came over here on the Mayflower and brought their gingerbread recipe with them. Except for the lack of molasses and the addition of the orange zest it's pretty much the same as this one. Our original recipe (before alterations) had 1 heaping C. lard, 2 C New Orleans molasses, 1 Tbl ginger, 1 Tbl Soda, 1 tsp alum, 24 Tbl boiling water and enough flour to make them stiff enough to roll. Let stand overnight before rolling. Best tasting when dunked in a tin cup of milk in the dark. (Great-Great Grandma's little joke)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanni Kistler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This recipe is awesome!!! Highly recommended it! I made them for the first time on 12/17, for my daughters class to decorate the next day. Rave reviews from all of the kids, and adults too! I followed the recommendation, doubled the recipe, and used orange juice instead of orange zest, half dark brown sugar and half white sugar, didn't have dark corn syrup and stores were out, so used half light corn syrup and half mild molasses. I also added half a tablespoon of vanilla (kids love it). The dough came out perfect to work with. Wouldn't chill it overnight though, maybe just two hours. Rolling it to 1/4" thick worked perfect for cookies sturdy enough to decorate and soft enough to eat. Thanks for the recommendations!!! We are making another batch this evening, will try adding mini chocolate chips - kids want to know what gingerbread chocolate chip cookies will taste like... :) Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dreamer727
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These were good gingerbread boys, turned out well. I did not think they were spectacular or anything though. I probably wont use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Cammy Gionet
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Fantastic recipe (and I've tried quite a few gingerbread cookie recipes). I increased the spices just by a tad, but kept everything else the same. I love the hint of orange in these cookies. 10 mins was perfect in my oven, the cookies cooled nice and soft. I left a batch in for 11 mins (just to try it out) and even those were delicious (light and crispy, not rock hard). Two thumbs up, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy Gionet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was by far one of the yummiest cookies I have ever eaten!! We loved the orange zest and they were perfectly seasoned. One substitution I made was using 'rice syrup', I am currently in Germany and we could not find corn syrup or molasses anywhere. lol. But I am glad we used it b/c the cookies turned out amazing!! I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a light gingerbread flavor! I just finished making the dough for a second batch, everyone in the family is getting some decorated gingerbread men this year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States