Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I doubled this added molasses, used 1 cup ww pastery flour, refridgerated over night, rolled them out baked them and they were flat as crepes, and mushy, so I put them back in the oven and they came out crispy, now I must frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naenae are you kidding me?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Easy recipe & tastes great. The recipe yielded enough for 1 large gingerbread housse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good gingerbread - nice flavor. I decided to make 1/2 the recipe as it said it made "five dozen". I used a 3"x5" gingerbread man cookie cutter and 1/2 the recipe ONLY made 13 gingerbread men !!! The pictured gingerbread boys must be VERY little ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I actually altered this recipe to make for a vegan friend. I replaced the butter for dairy free spread and used no-egg egg replacer. They turned out perfect and many vegan/vegetarian friends didn't believe they were vegan. Four pointers: 1. If using egg replacer, because this is a very soft dough I would recommend minimising the water you use to mix with the powder. 2. Also I refrigerated the dough overnight, but still kept portions in the freezer as I was rolling them to ensure they were ultra chilled and as firm as they could be. 3. Don't be put off by soft dough, they are perfect and worth the difficult handling, if you add too much extra flour...THEY WILL BE FLOURY! 4. Finally, I am impatient and clumsy so instead of using a rolling pin, I used a tortilla press and two sheets of baking paper to 'roll' the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I loved orange tangy taste. I made some adjustments for the second batch as i prefer my gingerbead man darker but have ran out of molasses in the house so i added abt 3 tsp of chocolate powder and increase the spices.. It turned out even better.. :) Would definitely use this recipe over and over again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Chew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
So yummy but I'm at altitude and might need some adjustment, they are didn't keep their shape and spread a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VegWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was an absolutely fantastic gingerbread cookie recipe. I did use the molasses instead of the corn syrup, eliminated the orange zest, and added a little more ginger, but it turned out fabulous. My cooks (ie. the kids) kept wanting to eat them when they came out. Other recipes I have tried the cookies broke or were bland. This one, they all stayed together and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used this cookie recipe last year and it was very good. Its a good dough to work with. I substituted molasses as some suggested. The orange can be a bit overpowering so the easy solution is to cut back on it and see how you like it. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Gingerbread cookies made by scratch are always best. But I found out that when in a pinch that using a gingerbread cake mix and adding extra flour to the dough to make stiff, works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
omg so i made these last year and my whole family loved them. i made 5 baches for christmas and they were gone before the clock hit 12 o'clock. these cookies are so good and tasty., you can taste the orange., but it's not a over powering. i love them so much i making them this year as well. i'll give some to teahcers, nieghbor, friends and family. the all time best cookiie of the season!! you'll love it.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alistar24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States