Gingerbread Boys Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
they were good but they tasted like oranges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I thought they turned out very well. We couldn't make them into gingerbread boys but they still turned out good. The flavoring was good and the only thing was that they got really hard after a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
It was good but mine got really crunchayyy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Levi_steven
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great tasting recipe. Like others, I used molasses instead of corn syrup (because that's all I had). I also cut down the recipe to only make 20 cookies and that worked out well. I really like the "light" taste. They remind me of a gingersnap cookie. My whole family enjoyed them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This needed no changes to be amazing and wonderful!! If you do want darker color, 1/2 the dark syrup for molasses but for flavor and crunch and chewy center bliss.... it really is perfect just like it is. Everyone we've made these for have told us they are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These cookies turned out pretty well! The only thing is, they didn't really turn out to be gingerbread. They tasted like orange cookies with a hint of cinnamon. I think they need a stronger "gingerbread" flavor. As a cookie they taste great, however this isn't a gingerbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I don't bake much, so the hassle in making these was kind of painful. But I loved them. The love having something unexpected like orange zest. I made them a little thick the first time I rolled them and it turned out really well as a soft cookie. I preferred it soft than when I rolled it down to thin. It's the original hard cookie, but didn't take as yummy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These are great & I don't even like gingerbread :] I didn't add as much orange zest, I thought it would taste too strong, so I only added a tablespoon & they came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Amazing cookies! You will probably need a lot of flour for your counter top. When I only "lightly" floured my counter, the dough stuck something awful. I had to scrape it off with a spatula and re-knead it. It worked well with lots of flour which I brushed off the cookies before I put them on the tray. These would be good with more ginger, especially if you like your cookies spicy. I subbed applesauce for half the butter and everything worked fine! As other reviewers suggested, I used molasses instead of the corn syrup, which I believe is essential to a good gingerbread cookie. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Karen_M
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Trying this new recipe as my old gingerbread men recipe leaves me disappointed. This was very nice; my substitutions were brown sugar for the white, molasses for the corn syrup, and omitted the orange. Next time I will cut the sugar - still very sweet. But 5 stars nonetheless. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States