Gingerbread Boys And Girls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I made this recipe (but used 2 teaspoons of ginger instead of 1) and made gingerbread boys and girls with my 3 year old niece! The recipe is delicious and the bakes into beautiful, spicy cookies. I will add these to my annual Christmas baking list from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
The texture of the cookies was perfect -- I hate crunchy gingerbread cookies, and these were nice and soft all the way through. The little guys puffed up nicely, and looked fabulous, but the taste was definitely lacking spice -- 7 cups of flour plus only 4 teaspoons of spice just wasn't enough. Next time I'll use 2 teaspoons each of cloves, cinnamon, and allspice, 3 teaspoons of ginger, and I'll add about a teaspoon of nutmeg. I also found the dough extremely difficult to work with, chilled or not. It did become slightly easier to work with once I added a teaspoon or two of water and kneaded the dough for a while. I may leave out some of the flour to make it easier to work with next time, instead of adding extra water. Definitely not my favourite tasting cookie, but beautiful for hanging on the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I, like one of the other people, love ginger and increased it from 1 to 2 tsp. Absolutely the best gingerbread recipe I've ever tried. After chilling, I found working with it a pleasure. No breaking or ripping. I will be doing a gingerbread house next year with this one!!! Luci
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I personally do not like gingerbread cookies however these were such a hit at the christmas parties i went to and also they were a lot of fun to make. easy to cut out and we used colored royal icing to paint clothes and faces on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
These cookies were easy to make and the dough was wonderful to work with. I used a small heart shaped cookie cutter and got 4+ dozen cookies when I halfed the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This the only gingerbread recipe that's worked for me...it was so easy...rolled out like a dream! I put in 2 tsp of ginger like others suggested and it turned out very yummy. The only hard part was stiring in the last 3 cups of flour...my whimpy arm was tired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
I found the dough very very crumbly when I tried to roll it, but kneading it a little first helped ALOT! I didn't like the strong molasses taste, but my kids, and everyone else that's tried them loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Tastes great, stays just soft enough for days. I found that kneading the dough before rolling it made the rest of the process easier. The dough held together enough so my toddler could pick up the cookies and put them on the cookie tray! I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Having misplaced my regular recipe, I decided to try these because of their high ratings. I was very disappointed in these cookies. They didn't even come close to being as good as my other recipe. For one thing, they weren't spicy enough. For another thing, they were too dry. Blah. Not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
Great recipe! Tastes fine. The more you chill the dough the easier it is to work and cut. I cheated and rolled the dough out and cut it on top of a chest freezer. This kept it nice and chilled and made it easier to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States