Gingerbread Boys And Girls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
Fun and tasty! These will definitely be on out tree this christmas (unless the dogs.. kids.. pull them all off and eat them!) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
Great recipe! Tastes fine. The more you chill the dough the easier it is to work and cut. I cheated and rolled the dough out and cut it on top of a chest freezer. This kept it nice and chilled and made it easier to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
I found the dough very very crumbly when I tried to roll it, but kneading it a little first helped ALOT! I didn't like the strong molasses taste, but my kids, and everyone else that's tried them loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I made this recipe (but used 2 teaspoons of ginger instead of 1) and made gingerbread boys and girls with my 3 year old niece! The recipe is delicious and the bakes into beautiful, spicy cookies. I will add these to my annual Christmas baking list from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I, like one of the other people, love ginger and increased it from 1 to 2 tsp. Absolutely the best gingerbread recipe I've ever tried. After chilling, I found working with it a pleasure. No breaking or ripping. I will be doing a gingerbread house next year with this one!!! Luci
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This recipe is so easy. The gingerbread tastes great. I used this recipe to make cookies as ornaments for my Christmas tree. They look awesome! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This the only gingerbread recipe that's worked for me...it was so easy...rolled out like a dream! I put in 2 tsp of ginger like others suggested and it turned out very yummy. The only hard part was stiring in the last 3 cups of flour...my whimpy arm was tired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
These cookies were easy to make and the dough was wonderful to work with. I used a small heart shaped cookie cutter and got 4+ dozen cookies when I halfed the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I really liked this recipe. Im an inexperienced cook and this was one of the first recipes i've tried. I wanted to have an old fashioned christmas so I dedided to make popcorn garland and gingerbread men so this recipe was perfect. I think it was extremely hard to stir in the last 3 cups of flour though, its a lot easier if you mix the ingrediants in a fairly large bowl and knead in the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
The texture of the cookies was perfect -- I hate crunchy gingerbread cookies, and these were nice and soft all the way through. The little guys puffed up nicely, and looked fabulous, but the taste was definitely lacking spice -- 7 cups of flour plus only 4 teaspoons of spice just wasn't enough. Next time I'll use 2 teaspoons each of cloves, cinnamon, and allspice, 3 teaspoons of ginger, and I'll add about a teaspoon of nutmeg. I also found the dough extremely difficult to work with, chilled or not. It did become slightly easier to work with once I added a teaspoon or two of water and kneaded the dough for a while. I may leave out some of the flour to make it easier to work with next time, instead of adding extra water. Definitely not my favourite tasting cookie, but beautiful for hanging on the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States