Gingerbread Boys And Girls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This makes alot of dough. I enjoy it and will make it again. I will add a little more ginger the next time though...other spices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These were pretty good. Ended up with about 6 dozen cookies. Almost doubled the spices and next time will more than double them, although I prefer a spicy cookie. Refrigerated the dough 24 hours and it was no problem to work with. Will use this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These cookies tasted great! Definitely not for making gingerbread Houses - the pieces come out so soft and chewy (YUM) and they'd likely crumble with the weight of candy and icing on them. I only made 2 changes: I accidentally spilled the cinnamon (with the help of children :D) in the dough, but it turned out to be perfect! I also added 1 Tbsp of ginger instead of 1 tsp. They came out really soft and chewy. I only gave 4 stars though because even though I refrigerated the dough and used wax paper, the dough was still terrible to work with. I gave up trying to use cookie cutters (couldn't remove the dough from the edges because it would stick to everything - the kids were disappointed) and ended up just enjoying it as a big glob! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Cookies turned out great and are really pretty. I tried this recipe because I was anxious to try the egg yolk paint to decorate the cookies. It was really fun!!! I used paint brushes and painted the icing on just like using watercolors as a kid. They're really different and pretty. I'll post pix as soon as I remember how. Thanks, Cindy! Update: I made these into little gingerbread men for our annual cookie exchange and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Having misplaced my regular recipe, I decided to try these because of their high ratings. I was very disappointed in these cookies. They didn't even come close to being as good as my other recipe. For one thing, they weren't spicy enough. For another thing, they were too dry. Blah. Not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Tastes great, stays just soft enough for days. I found that kneading the dough before rolling it made the rest of the process easier. The dough held together enough so my toddler could pick up the cookies and put them on the cookie tray! I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
These gingerbread cookies are the best and I used butter frosting and rasins to decorate. My boyriend ate the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIE17R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
These are o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I personally do not like gingerbread cookies however these were such a hit at the christmas parties i went to and also they were a lot of fun to make. easy to cut out and we used colored royal icing to paint clothes and faces on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This was the first time I made gingerbread cookies. It was an easy recipe to follow. I agree with the other reviews about adding extra spices, which I did. I also added extra flour to get the correct consistency and chilling the dough definitely makes a big difference. Everyone thought the flavor and texture were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Burnet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States