Gingerbread Boys And Girls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made these exactly as written (except the glaze). They tasted delicious, but the reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the dough was VERY sticky and hard to work with even after 2 hours in the fridge. Other than that, they were nice and soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Great recipe. The only problem is that these little brown men are just too cute to eat....so I only make deformed cookies for anything other than decorations. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
All you have to do is instead of cutting them out before, cut the gingerbread men out after baking. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These are the absolute best gingerbread cookies I've ever tasted. I've been baking these for the past 3 years and everyone loves them. I get requests from co-workers each Christmas to make them a batch. The key for me to keeping them nice and soft (which I love) is to roll the dough about 1/2 inch thick and to bake them for only 10 minutes. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Doubled the ginger and used one and a half times the other spices. I had never eaten gingerbread before but they were so good. I outlined with a little royal icing and added mini m&m eyes and buttons. I had friends tell me they had never had such soft and wonderful gingerbread before. They were the perfect snack for our trip to cut our Christmas tree. This will become a new Christmas tradition in our house. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the first Christmas I made gingerbread anything. My husband and friends are from up north and they absolutely love gingerbread cookies. Our friends automatically asked me for the recipe and I ended up making 3 batches for Christmas. I thought the flour measurement was off, but it turned out just right. I used sugar cookie icing for the gingerbread. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Delicious. Easy to mix up and the dough handles beautifully with a dusting of flour on the table and the rolling pin. Cookies are light, chewy, and not too sweet, frosting complements nicely. No eggs means that you can make this recipe with young children and not worry if they taste the dough. I made first with blackstrap molasses, which overpowered the flavor some, and I liked the flavor better on the second batch when I used 50/50 blackstrap and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe was awful; to quote my dh they tasted like dog biscuits. There was absolutely no spice flavor that came through, and yes I used good quality and fresh spices. On the plus side I chilled the dough for quite awhile and had no problems with the dough, I did find that it rolled out better using a small amount of flour vs powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This makes alot of dough. I enjoy it and will make it again. I will add a little more ginger the next time though...other spices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These were pretty good. Ended up with about 6 dozen cookies. Almost doubled the spices and next time will more than double them, although I prefer a spicy cookie. Refrigerated the dough 24 hours and it was no problem to work with. Will use this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States